Nora - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Nora Reviews

Page 1 of 4
May 21, 2018
Of very limited general appeal, but a real treat for Joyceans. This movie grossed 15000 dollars, which just goes to show what people really want from a movie nowadays. It's passionate, poignant and true. Not for the non-literary with short attention spans.
November 2, 2013
A film worth seeing just for the performance of Susan Lynch as Nora.
July 7, 2013
A film about James Joyce and his passionate and troubled relationship with his muse Nora Barnacle through their times in Dublin and Italy. The characters are too exaggerated and the screenplay in general is second rate. The film is dull and has little going for it, apart from a good photography. For a film built around sexual tension and chemistry, this film sure lacks it.
hunterjt13
Super Reviewer
June 13, 2013
James Joyce and Nora Barnacle fall in love, but societal pressures and sexual obsession complicate their relationship.
When I write the one-sentence plot summary in my reviews, I try to find the central conflict; however, finding the central conflict, what keeps this film interesting, is remarkably difficult, and I had difficulty putting my finger on what keeps these lovers apart. At times it is societal pressures about sex and sexuality, and at times the film focuses on Joyce's jealousy, his feeling that it is impossible to truly know Nora sexually. What's worse is that by the end of the film, I didn't see the central conflicts coming to any kind of resolution. What adjustments do these characters make in order to function together? What should we learn from this story?
I think the reason I enjoyed this film a little bit is the insight into Joyce's work. We see scenes that are reminiscent of "The Dead," "Araby," and Ulysses. I didn't know that Nora was the inspiration for each of these works, so I guess I learned something.
Overall, this isn't a complete film because the conflict isn't resolved and I think one needs to be intimately familiar with Joyce's writing in order to understand it.
April 29, 2013
Not enough exploration or explanation. You don't quite ever understand why this couple is together or James Joyce's purpose for writing. I wanted more.
November 13, 2012
Zzzzzzzzz...what? Oh, yeah, it's boring.
½ October 9, 2012
Watched this today and its quite possible my new least favorite movie ever. Little better than a soft core porn with depressing dialogue. Joyce is abusive and seems to be a little schizophrenic, Nora is portrayed not as a feminist but more like a doormat who has occasional outbursts of anger. Any discussion of his writing is limited. The characters had no depth, so little fact that even adding about an hour of grotesque, hairy 1920s sexual congress could not hide. And at the end after all this chaos, we are assured they strolled happily into the sunset, living out the rest of their lives together. I would give this movie -5 if that was possible, it was an utter disaster
July 22, 2012
I think knowing more about Joyce's life and loves would have helped me enjoy this one a little more. There seems to be a shorthand in the writing and editing that relies on the viewer to fill in the blanks. Still, it was interesting to see a side of the literary legend I hadn't been exposed to before and I'll generally watch Ewan in just about anything.
June 3, 2012
A film that's not even worth watching as it's unlikeable, unenjoyable and genuinely boring.
May 13, 2012
A convincing portrait of the intersection between creative genius and crazy, all-consuming love.
½ March 2, 2012
A boring movie that has no plot and goes absolutely nowhere. It has earned it's 2 and a half stars due to great acting and superb cinematography
January 22, 2012
Despite what any one says, this is an amazing period romance that tells the true story of the Irish novelist James Joyce and Susan Lynch plays his wife and lover, Susan Barnacle. They fall in love and they have their difficulties but they still stay married through it all. Truly an amazing film.
Super Reviewer
November 2, 2011
I'm giving this only two stars: One for Ewan McGregor, and one for James Joyce. Unless you are obsessed with the careers of either one, there is absolutely no reason to watch this movie. McGregor does his best to lend his shining talent to this turd. I've seen better production value on the Lifetime network or PBS. Completly boring. I might as well have listened to an Audio Book of Joyce's biography.
September 14, 2011
A convincing portrait of the intersection between creative genius and crazy, all-consuming love.
July 27, 2011
A bit slow, but true stories are enjoyable to watch even though it is slow.
½ February 2, 2010
A story worth telling but almost certainly could have told in a slightly more interesting way.
Super Reviewer
½ November 16, 2009
Boring, not the kind of movie I would have chosen to watch but I like Ewan McGregor.
February 21, 2009
A must-see for Joyce fans, feminist historians great and small and admirers of the Emerald Isle. For everyone else, it's a muddy tale of sex, love, obsession, jealousy, cruelty and abandonment that can keep one at a distance.
February 14, 2009
a brilliant movie about a brilliant man.
September 5, 2008
Not bad. Not exciting either. Is the story of Nora Barnacle and James Joyce really about sex and obsession?
Page 1 of 4