Notes From Underground - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Notes From Underground Reviews

Page 1 of 1
July 30, 2012
An interesting enough adaptation of the Dostoevsky novella.
½ May 18, 2012
I first saw this movie by chance in an art house cinema in Gracia, Barcelona. It's a brilliantly dark B movie rendition of Dostoevsky's classic- and modern day adaptations of old stories don't usually do it for me. If you enjoy watching the (often hilarious) blunders and frustrations of a tormented soul's progress to stubborn self-destruction you will enjoy this. Thought-provoking.
½ May 18, 2012
Though the adaptation sets this 1864 novel in modern times, it has to be the best adaptation of any book I have ever seen. Using a videotaped confession of our underground man as the framework, the film relentlessly throws the viewer down his sick and twisted life. Diseased with self-loathing, the man takes perverse pleasure in ruining himself and those around him. Wondrously shot, the film is very well done for never having a wide release. All the characters are well-played, and I found myself both hating and pitying the man as he self-destructs. A definite morality play, this film (like the book), shows the destructive nature of spite.
July 3, 2009
A bitter man reaps the wages of spite and selfishness. Underground man, you ain't gots to live like that...underground man, you can move out of that basement suite!!
½ February 3, 2009
This movie didn't corporate everything from the book... but it did make me understand the book better... and plus the soft core porn was pretty sweet.
½ January 27, 2009
If Seth Green is the first name that pops into mind when you're thinking about adapting a Dostoevsky novel, this movie is for you!

But Czerny did do a good job, and this is probably about as good of an adaptation as is even possible for Notes from Underground.
July 8, 2008
Dark and disturbing, I liked the modern take on this story. The Joseph Frank commentary and analysis comparing the novella to the movie storyline in the special features was very interesting
June 28, 2008
Could have been a LOT better. But, like Tarkovsky said about a well-written book; if it's a good enough book, it doesn't have to be made into a movie.
June 2, 2008
An amazing, devastating film about one wretched man's slow, pathetic self-destruction. Henry Czerny is an amazing actor and this may be his best work yet. At times I felt like I was watching and listening to myself...
February 20, 2008
Jon Favreau and Seth Green makes me think this film coud be a very promising film.
½ October 7, 2007
strangely incrediable
½ September 10, 2007
Since i know the producer, I give it a good rating! It's a solid quality movie too, watch it! It looks like some sequences has been borrowed from Kaurismakis "man without a past"...
August 29, 2007
"I am a sick man..." and so it begins. Admirable if flawed adaptation of Fyodor Dostoevsky's novella finds Henry Czerny as the "Underground Man," a man who is trapped in his own thoughts and can't allow himself to be happy because he reasons everything. Movie simplifies the character, his thoughts, and the "incidents" that hurt him in his life. Film also has that typical cheap indie film feel that's so prevalent in the most films from the 90's indie movement, but Czerny actually makes it worthwhile, delivering a decent performance.
½ June 7, 2007
I am a sick man... I am a spiteful man. I am an unattractive man. I believe my liver is diseased. What a great film.
February 18, 2007
Sounds interesting....
½ December 31, 2006
this is a good movie. they cut some stuff out of the movie though. but you should watch it anyway.
December 11, 2006
i would like to see this
December 1, 2006
One of my fave books is Notes from the Teenage Underground which talks about this movie and book a lot.
June 28, 2006
Dostoyevsky Notes from Underground is a masterpiece and although this adaptaion is practically unknown, what I have heard about it is very encourouging! I can't wait to get my hands on it!
Page 1 of 1