Oliver & Company - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Oliver & Company Reviews

March 27, 2019
The cartoon action will delight young children, while older ones, who usually reject animation as "kid stuff," will enjoy the rock songs and hip characters, especially the brash Tito.
March 27, 2019
[T]he first animated feature from the new Disney studio regime, which is promising one such picture each year. Their first effort, measured against the Disney legacy of classics, is not up to the highest standard.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 27, 2019
''Oliver & Company'' is impoverished technically, and it is also impoverished emotionally.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 27, 2019
In any case, the movie is enjoyable, if not especially memorable.
March 27, 2019
Oliver & Company is Dickens with a twist, and Disney with a treat.
March 27, 2019
With its captivating characters, sprightly songs and zap-happy animation, Oliver & Company adds up to a tip-top frolic.
December 26, 2010
Can't compete with Disney classics, but still fun.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 13, 2009
Lacks the classic Disney charm that works for adults as well as kids.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 13, 2009
The animation is fairly unexciting though serviceable, and the overall mystification of class difference would probably have made Dickens shudder, but kids should find this tolerable enough.
November 13, 2009
Even as a cartoon poodle, Bette Midler stops the show.
March 17, 2009
The last gasp of Disney Animation's post-Walt malaise before the 1990s Disney renaissance … retains Dickens's seamy milieu, but not his morality-play tableau.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
February 2, 2009
I guess I can cut the Mouse House a little slack when it comes to paint-by-numbers mediocrities like Oliver & Company.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
January 26, 2006
Much cornball adventure ensues, punctuated by healthy helpings of singing, dancing and general merriment.
May 21, 2003
It is incomprehensible how 'Oliver and Company could have issued from the studio that set the standards by which all animated films have been judged for nearly 60 years.
March 11, 2003
Simply put, Oliver & Company didn't work for me not because I'm many years past my sixth birthday but because it never scared me into forgetting that fact.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
June 18, 2002
The film offers a fanciful, lush urban setting, unusual for Disney animated features, and a couple of good songs.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 21, 2001
The young crew of Disney animators, directed by George Scribner, have created a film of constant Interest, manipulating the diverse characters with vast skill.
January 1, 2000
Take the kids. Have fun.
January 1, 2000
Despite three screenwriters and 13 names credited for the story, the script quickly sinks into a predictable 'girl-meets-pet, girl-loses-pet, girl-and -pet-reunite' sap-trap.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4