Operation Dunkirk - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Operation Dunkirk Reviews

Page 1 of 2
April 27, 2020
A lack of historic knowledge has led to a storyline with British paratroops, French Resistance and "Americans" present during the Dunkirk evacuations in May-June 1940. These units would not participate until late 1941 at the earliest, and results in the sort of historical inaccuracies which irritate the history buff. Had the movie (and concept) been named "Operation Dieppe" instead, and based around the raid-in-depth by British and Canadian commandoes and US Army Rangers in June 1942, then the movie dialogue becomes correct and relevant and the movie is pleasantly watchable.
However, as "Operation Dunkirk" it is historically implausible in the extreme.
April 27, 2020
Terrible story line. Full to brimming over with foolishness. Plus the fact that these guys were "Para's!" But The Para's weren't formed until 1942! One guy gets shot from standing in front of a window with 10+ Gerries blasting away. These guys are in cover, the Gerris are in the open, yet nobody even attempts to take out any of the enemy. Plus too many other ridiculous inconsistencies.
April 27, 2020
This film is rubbish. It concerns a group of soldiers, paratroop regiment apparently, although this regiment was not formed until some time after the action depicted in the film took place. The production values are abysmal, the script is abysmal, the direction is abysmal, the characterisation is abysmal - need I go on? The only thing that could make it worse would be if it said "starring Danny Dyer".
½ April 27, 2020
Omg who wrote the script for this? It's so jarring to see clearly talented actors being given such bad lines and direction.
½ April 27, 2020
This movie is an unwatchable piece of crap.
April 27, 2020
OMG that would have been good if some of the acting was better , but the word schizer is appropriate
½ April 27, 2020
Worst Movie ever.
I would give it zero stars if I can. The movie is a complete waste of time.
The movie plot is not clear. The emotions are forced. The acting are really bad I feel like it is more like a student project.
April 27, 2020
The historical accuracy in this movie is uncanny. How they managed to get the lead actor's left eye swell up for different moments throughout the movie and be normal again without any reason is mindblowing. The CGI is literally out of this world.

It was so good I went back to Walmart and bought a couple for all of my friends (love you Brian).

Watch this you won't be disappointed.
½ April 27, 2020
The "actors" must have been found at The Nags Head. The budget of the movie is less then I make in a week returning beer cans. And I dont drink beers in a can.
½ April 27, 2020
seen in a very long time. Ludicrous script, appalling acting and a depiction of the soldiers involved as complete imbeciles with no common sense or tactical nouse whatsoever. Not recommended.
April 27, 2020
This movie has so many things wrong with it.......
SO Officer wearing the Close Combat Clasp but it wasn't issued until 1942, the use of the Allied Star on British equipment, men wearing the British Paraguay beret, the Paras were not a fighting force in 1940, British troops using Sten Guns, Wehrmacht troops using modern Flektran camouflage smocks, British troops using US M1 helmets & rifles, the use of M5 Stuart as British armour in 1940.
Germans using both early & mid war uniforms.

Just what was the wardrobe team thinking and who the hell carried out the historical research for this movie.
½ April 27, 2020
Historically the worst film ever. Para reg wasn't formed until 1941, dunkirk happened in 1940. Uniforms all wrong. Royal Marine badge on a Red Beret? Impossible. Marines wear a Green Beret. Utter shite.
April 27, 2020
Watched the first half hour by mistake. I had planned on watching Dunkirk, not Operation Dunkirk. Very sad to know that I will never get these 30 minutes back. Simply the worst movie ever. Totally historically inaccurate, bad acting, low budget, lousy script. In short, everything about this movie is extremely bad. My suggestion: please do NOT watch it.
½ April 27, 2020
Badly written, badly acted, badly shot, overall a piece of shit
½ April 27, 2020
Complete load of tosh. Poorly acted, reminiscent of 'allo 'allo and the bunch of Paras were about as drippy as you couldget, walking bunched up through the fields talking about how they missed little Timmy back home. These guys were advised on the military front by a weekender paintball geek. Limp script, no character depth.
April 27, 2020
I dont know why men make this kind of movie yet.AWFUL
½ April 27, 2020
Absolute garbage from start to finish. Nothing more needs to be said!
½ April 27, 2020
Terrible. Obviously a movie trying to take advantage of a box office hit movie. This is some of the worst acting I've seen. Screenplay is so poor, you would think this was done by a few teenagers trying to half ass a high school drama class final.
½ April 27, 2020
Terrible. Watched this instead of Chris Nolan's Dunkirk by mistake; still trying to work out what was worst between the acting, the story and the accents. Don't waste your time like I did.
½ April 27, 2020
So much incorrect with this movie, the use of the Allied Star on vehicles in the begining, men wearing the Red Beret of the Paras when they were not even formed at the time, use of the Sten Gun again not even designed in 1940, Wehrmacht troops using modern Flektarn camo smocks.
Some of the British troops wearing US M1 helmets.
British troops using Tommy Guns.
German troops wearing both early & late war uniforms.

Just what the hell was the wardrobe team thinking, no research done correctly at all.
Page 1 of 2