The Pentagon Papers - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Pentagon Papers Reviews

Page 1 of 2
November 12, 2013
An important story is wasted through a subtly-free approach to telling it.
½ April 19, 2013
Very powerful but somewhat lacking Vietnam drama starring James Spader, that was made for cable that came out right before the U.S Invasion of Iraq. I do see the connection between this release and the real life politics going on with Iraq during 2003.
This did a good job with going behind the scenes of the war but was somewhat lacking with the actual combat scenes. That put aside this wasn't really meant to be a balls to the wall Platoon rip off, but this is still an entertaining watch for anyone who is into war films that actually tell the truth.
½ April 11, 2012
A good exploration of the release of the internal papers detailing precursors and involvement in the Vietnam war. Interesting. I can't speak to the accuracy, but it was a good history lesson for me. Countless dead for advancement of domestic politics. Nasty stuff. Low budget, but it doesn't matter much. Great cast.
February 18, 2012
please gv me the synopsis of thi sfilm
Super Reviewer
February 9, 2012
The limitations of its production are felt (made-for-TV, small budget) with overly brief characterizations and the often rushed scenes, but the true story is a timely and powerful one, and the film does a pretty good job covering the impact of what Ellsberg did, and the risks he was taking. James Spader really carried the film with his performance, and was helped by the always reliable and engaging Paul Giamatti.

3/5 Stars
October 24, 2011
the pentagon papers is good
½ September 8, 2011
Very powerful but somewhat lacking Vietnam drama starring James Spader, that was made for cable that came out right before the U.S Invasion of Iraq. I do see the connection between this release and the real life politics going on with Iraq during 2003.
This did a good job with going behind the scenes of the war but was somewhat lacking with the actual combat scenes. That put aside this wasn't really meant to be a balls to the wall Platoon rip off, but this is still an entertaining watch for anyone who is into war films that actually tell the truth.
July 22, 2011
A well-done recounting of what may have very well been the beginning of the end of the Nixon Administration. Anyone who doubts the credibility and importance of a free press should watch this film.
½ May 1, 2010
The fact that an act of treason can be considered patriotism, shows you how screwed up the country has gotten from what our forefathers had made.
½ September 19, 2009
The fascinating true story of Daniel Ellsberg, a government defence analyst who leaked 700,000 top-secret pages to the press, revealing the truth about the Vietnam War shortly before Watergate.
September 8, 2009
This early FX original plays like All The Presidents Men lite and never quite gets as thrilling or blood boiling as it should, but James Spader puts in another solid performance. The film is also hindered by its low and unforgiving budget. The Vietnam bits are never given enough time, I assume because of the inability to shoot near anywhere that slightly resembles that jungle locale. SpaderÔ??s arrest and trial are over so quickly the audience never feels the threat of a lifelong prison sentence. And why on Earth is this film rated R? Newsreel violence IÔ??m guessing but that seems rather ridiculous. Not VF.
July 12, 2009
I love this movie. The story is very good. James Spader is excellent!
½ March 16, 2009
Quite good, enjoyed the later half alot more as he tried to hide his goings on... Alan Arkin was great as was the gorgeous Claire Forlani...

Glad the wonderful Paul Giamatti was in there too....

There wasnt much in the way of dramatic tension...maybe because James Spader played it so internally ...U gotta love that guys diction...No wonder he's kinda typecast doing Boston Legal...

Was quite shocked to hear it was a true story & he was vindicated by court action in the era of the horrible Nixon too....
½ February 28, 2009
great movie, I love it. courage is something most people do not have.
January 26, 2009
šok sIkIcI bi filme benziyo ama jspader išin izlenir mi bilmiyorm. biliyorum salak?m. bulamadim zaten.
½ January 3, 2009
A interesting story I was not aware of.

"If my greatest act of patriotism was treason, so be it." -- Daniel Ellsberg.
½ December 29, 2008
So relevant for 2008. A kind of narrative that is a step away from being a docudrama -- explains the Pentagon Papers, which preceded Watergate, and how and why these events happened. James Slater is young and is the same as he is on Boston Legal.
½ December 18, 2008
"If my greatest act of patriotism was treason, so be it." -- Daniel Ellsberg.

Everyone should know this story.
December 17, 2008
couldntve been made in 03 spader looks young
Page 1 of 2