Prey of the Jaguar - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Prey of the Jaguar Reviews

Page 1 of 1
February 16, 2017
Not a bad idea for a concept of a movie to be fair but the budget is way to low to pull anything to impressive off here. The suit looks abysmal...maybe a watch if your pissed and need a laugh???
½ March 4, 2015
Seemingly what you would get if you gave seasoned professionals the task of making an 10-year old, action-film-watching child's fantasy into a real movie fashioned after 1980's b-grade action, "Prey of the Jaguar" is quirky, fun, and intentionally hilarious. There's a tepid martial arts quality to the fight scenes. The acting seems deliberately cheesy from beginning to end, with the exception of a tender father-son scene that's too realistic and too irreverent of being on camera to be good Hollywood dialogue. If you're looking for strong camera work, get in line: the camera man is stationary the entire film, so get in the mood for lots of zoom, with plenty of pan, tilt, and some pretty wacky rotation thrown in. There are some funny, larger-than-life supporting characters that provide decent comic relief. The director's skill starts to really show in the scenes depicting the mental breakdown and re-invention of the main character as The Jaguar, after which out come some high quality sets and props, some decent special effects and colorful lighting, and one memorable costume. The clean body, clean mind, "regular hero" theme ties in well with the Tai Chi Kung Fu master-lineage story channeled by John Fujioka in a bit role.
½ May 3, 2012
Text to my wife that pretty much sums it up: "Hey! That waaaas Linda Blair in that crappy movie I watched last week."' Oh, if only MST3000 was still around . . . this would be an absolute must.
½ April 30, 2012
A descent movie, could have been better on the writting but it was good anyways for a low budget movie. Wish they would have made a sequel to it.
½ April 23, 2012
There are bad movies. There is the rare bad movie that is SO bad you have to watch it. This is not one of them. Everything from the story, the acting, the directing is just bad and not in a good way. This is just plain bad.
I remember Matthew Caulfield being hailed as the next big thing. This movie is bad enough to have killed any career.
½ November 16, 2011
Makes BLACK SCORPION look like THE DARK KNIGHT. I'd rather watch PUMA MAN than sit through this again.
½ April 10, 2010
In this hilariously absurd direct-to-video 90's actioner, imprisoned drug-lord Trevor Goddard (whom I'll always remember as Kano from the Mortal Kombat film. Also, I had no clue he died in 2003, which makes me sad) escapes in a deadly breakout and is eager to resume his drug empire, as well as destroy retired Special Ops agent Maxwell Caulfield. In the middle of enjoying his new secret life as a construction worker alongside his beatuiful (and pregnant) wife and charming superhero-obsessed son, his life is crushed as Goddard and his goons kill the entire family, his co-workers, and presumably Caulfield himself. Filled with hatred and vengeance, Caulfield goes back into training, enlisting the help of fellow former Ops guy Paul Bartel, a toymaker who also has every weapon imaginable (lol), his former sensai, and cop Linda Blair. All of this in order to become one of his son's imagined superheroes, the Jaguar. Soon, the Jaguar starts dishing out crime-fighting, low budget, 90's action in this hilariously campy and extremely corny film directed by usually horror-focused director David DeCoteau. Stacey Keach also shows up briefly as Caulfield's former boss. With an eclectic cast of B-movie icons, one would think this would be fun and entertaining in a good sense, but ultimately, the film becomes fun and entertaining in a much different way. Loads of lol moments of campy and all around corniness. Lots of 90's action aesthetics, including random kung-fu, lots of neck breaking, and laughable dialog. Good for a laugh, nothing more.
Super Reviewer
October 20, 2009
Man this movie is BAD!!! A guy trains in Martial Arts to become a superhero after his wife & kid are brutally murdered.The Acting/Action of this movie is so bad at times you cant help but laugh.Watch it for yourself
November 28, 2008
I had never heard of this one before, but I figured anything with Linda Blair, Stacy Keach and that guy from Mortal Combat who overdosed would have to be cool...wait, no I didn't, but to be fair, if you don't mind the B-movie cheese, it has its moments.
½ November 28, 2008
The end was a relief. This movie could not have been any worse.
Page 1 of 1