Prom Queen - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Prom Queen Reviews

Page 1 of 5
May 13, 2014
Not bad, but it curiously mixes heavy drama with light fluff and it comes across a bit awkward. The performances are fine, particularly Marie Tifo as the main character?s mother. It means well and overall it?s a good story.
April 10, 2012
cool movie, i think that we should fight for our rights in school for the prom.
August 11, 2011
It's quite obvious to see that the movie had a little budget. But the cheezy and kind of cheap style gave the movie a certain charm. Aaron Ashmore is charming and convincing in the role of Marc Hall, a gay teenager who decided to fight for his right to bring his date of choice to the prom. Despise some quite obvious flaws (putting artistic imagery just for the heck of it and being quite cliched) the story at its core is great and heartfelt which makes me give it the passing grade.
March 21, 2010
I DID. She was my FIRST
November 26, 2009
Not bad, but it curiously mixes heavy drama with light fluff and it comes across a bit awkward. The performances are fine, particularly Marie Tifo as the main character?s mother. It means well and overall it?s a good story.
September 28, 2009
i like this one it was a good movie
½ April 19, 2009
I liked it. It was a fun movie, and it shows that the world is so focused on the whole 'Gay' issue, and all Marc wants to do is just go to Prom.
January 14, 2009
mission accomplished :S
December 21, 2008
A cute movie with some really intersting cinemegraphic shots. Love the parents! I found the relationship between the two guys to be a bit annoying, but all in all, it was enjoyable to watch.
November 24, 2008
Takes what could have been an overly melodramatic Hallmark real life movie and gives it a little Queer As Folk spin. The argument is fairly balanced too, with two sides trying to use Marc Hall as a poster boy for their causes when all he really wants to do is just take his boyfriend to prom. Not a bad television movie, just not outstanding.
November 2, 2008
Ok, yes, this did have somewhat of a feel like an after school special. it was well done though. Just cheesey enough and camp enough. Marc and Jason, will they get to go to the Catholic school prom? Mon't have to tell you the ending as we have seen this before. Mac Fyfe is a hottie!
October 29, 2008
Aaron Ashmore is great and the movie has a great message.
shesdownbytheriver
Super Reviewer
October 17, 2008
No thankyou - Not interested
September 13, 2008
Based on a true story in Canada. The movie is quite a bit of fun but if you ever get to watch the documentary on this important court case I would. I LOVE that Marc's parents are so supportive of him. I wish all parents could be that way.
August 24, 2008
Very Interesting Layout
½ August 20, 2008
Sweet little movie...done as an afterschool special-esque TV movie for Canadian TV (look for Daphne from Queer as Folk and Jay from Degrassi:Next Gen in small roles). Very genuine and shows what the world might be like if more people in communities embraced their gay brethren.
July 21, 2008
Very heart-warming. It's good to know that people will stand up for what they believe in.
July 5, 2008
This cool gay teen film illustrates why Canadian television is so much cooler than pbs if Degrasi hasn't already proved it to you.
½ June 24, 2008
Good message throughout but horrible acting and horrible directing mar the overall experience.
½ June 19, 2008
Fantastic movie. Almost had me in tears.
Page 1 of 5