Pulp: a Film About Life, Death & Supermarkets - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Pulp: a Film About Life, Death & Supermarkets Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ February 5, 2018
A bit lifeless unfortunately. Didn?t go into enough detail about the band to warrant making this movie a documentary, would have worked better as a true concert movie.
November 28, 2015
I didn't pay too much attention to it,I thought it was nice,an okay doc for fans only...but i'm giving it 4 stars just because I love Pulp. the end.
August 1, 2015
Great. Uplifting and sweet,
½ July 13, 2015
Bits and pieces of performance, band, fans, and Sheffield. Nice, exclusively affectionate, but not really revelatory, just vignettes. It did make me fondly remember the town and the music.
May 10, 2015
Lots of shockingly ugly people in this documentary--makes me want to go to Sheffield.
½ March 28, 2015
An interesting look at a very normal bunch of people who are part of an iconic band.
March 26, 2015
good interesting doc
½ January 17, 2015
The music almost made it worthwhile in itself. If it hadn't been for the realisation that the weird vignettes about the people of Sheffield reflected Pulp's songs about the people of Sheffield then I'd have been a bit non-plussed. I'd forgotten how many good songs they'd made.
December 26, 2014
O valor de "Pulp: A Film about Life, Death & Supermarkets" reside sobretudo na forma como desmistifica as noções mais comuns do rockumentary: ou seja, retrata os Pulp como a grande banda Britpop que de facto foram, mas com uma dívida enorme para com a vida comum e demasiado mediana da cidade de Sheffield. Os Pulp, na perspectiva de Florian Habitch e com a colaboração conceptual de Jarvis Cocker, só chegaram às bocas do mundo porque souberam aproveitar o tédio de Sheffield, mas nem por isso são mais heróicos que as pessoas que deram a inspiração às suas canções mais emblemáticas. "Pulp: A Film about Life, Death & Supermarkets" reparte o seu tempo de antena em partes iguais pela banda e pelas pessoas nas ruas de Sheffield. E, tal como qualquer esforço artístico em Sheffield, é um documentário porreiro. Nem mais, nem menos.
½ December 17, 2014
Not earth-shaking, and no doubt of niche interest. Personally, I loved seeing my beautiful home town get the cinematographic treatment, and hearing some Pulp songs that aren't bloody Common People.
November 27, 2014
Saw it free on Pitchfork (was available for 24h)
November 19, 2014
its not about Pulp but people of Sheffield.
November 19, 2014
It's a truly privilege to have seen Pulp play live.
October 20, 2014
???? ?? ???????? ??????? ??????? ? ????? ? ????????, ?? ??? ?? ????????, ??????? ?? ????? Pulp.
August 16, 2014
Didn't really learn anything about the band
August 11, 2014
Big fan, but plenty of scope for a duff documentary which this was not!
All albums back on the playlist tomorrow morning:)
August 8, 2014
this movie was about being human and i learned about a band i didn't know about and a little more about Sheffield england
½ August 8, 2014
A charming documentary about the band Pulp with a strong focus on the fans, Sheffield's people and culture in particular. Leaves you wanting a bit more from about about the band in my opinion, but the portraits of the fans are cute and they do a great job of making the clips from the concert look dynamic and fun.
August 2, 2014
Sort of quirky (but tries too hard) with some really good moments, but made in a rush and it shows.
June 8, 2014
A documentary about the band, the music, and people, starting and finishing in Sheffield. Brilliant soundtrack!
Page 1 of 1