Purely Belter - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Purely Belter Reviews

Page 1 of 5
½ September 13, 2017
Sentimentality and deprivation sit uncomfortably together in this homegrown comedy from the man who made Brassed Off.
August 14, 2017
Essentially it is kitchen sink realism. Flawed in many ways but gets the message across about football supporters getting priced out of the game. It was made some sixteen years ago and things have gotten even grimmer. Some decent gags, one liners and a cameo from Alan Shearer.
November 17, 2013
Nothing special, but decent enough. Fans of Byker Grove can do a lot of star watching.
April 22, 2013
Very funny movie two young boys wanting football tickets
February 22, 2013
mint movie for the magpies
May 18, 2011
a must see for geordie
April 17, 2011
Soccer is without any doubt the most popular sport in Europe. The supporters can be very fanatic and for some every excuse is good enough to spend a lot of money on their favorite team. But it's also in this stadiums that people from all classes come together and not everybody is able to buy a ticket week after week because they are too poor. Their love for a soccer club can sometimes get out of hand and that's where this movie has found its inspiration.

It tells the story of two young boys who live in a rough neighborhood of the industrial city of Newcastle and who want to buy season tickets for their local football team Newcastle United. But because they don't have any money they will have to try anything to find some. They try to find some scrap metal which they can sell, but will also steal, try to rob a bank and do many other illegal stuff. But their actions don't go by unnoticed and soon they are caught by the justice department. Their dream of going to the football that season is over or isn't it...

The movie makers in the UK seem to prefer socially realistic dramas over other genres of movies (although costume dramas are popular as well) and I must say that I can appreciate that. It's that feeling of realism that keeps me interested time after time and when they add some very fine humor to it like they have done in this movie, I only like it more. There are people who will say that it is hard to like little criminals like the boys in this movie, but personally I don't have any problem with it. Fact is that there are indeed still a lot of impoverished areas in the industrial cities and why should these areas or the people that live there not be shown in a movie? Is it because that only disrupts some people's image of a perfect society? I don't know, but it isn't so that the movie glorifies the actions of the boys. It actually gives some biting social commentary on the broken families where they come from, the poverty which they live in,...

Even though I'm not a soccer fan I really had a good time watching this movie. That's why I would like to say that, even when you hate the game, you can still like the movie. Watch it for the biting criticism, the fine humor, the good acting by the boys,... and you'll notice that this movie is underrated by many.
½ September 19, 2010
Great brit film with likeable leads, an engaging plot, tearjerking scenes and humourous gags, this definitely comes recommended
August 14, 2010
Not completely sure what the fuss was about.
April 28, 2010
I could take or leave this film. I just could not get into it - parts were laugh out loud, but all in all it just did not captivate my interest.
½ February 4, 2010
great english comedy
½ December 1, 2009
Utterly hateful film
March 8, 2009
love films lyk this 1
½ November 19, 2008
An ok British comedy drama, but the moral of the story seems to suggest being bad gets you where you want to be.
November 1, 2008
aye man sod the reviews of this film, this is pure class like makes me feel back at home every time i see this, me mate used tae stay in those flats at the end like
½ October 12, 2008
it ok for a film set in newcastle
July 18, 2008
This was pretty decent. I thought the story was great and the friendship between the two main character was both wonderful and believable. I also loved all the get rich quick schemes!! I won't really need to see this film again though.
July 9, 2008
Natural performances by the two lads and a simple, amusing yet poignant storyline make this gritty British comedy drama worth catching. And the bank robbery scene is a scream
June 29, 2008
I really enjoy films that show people being "real" and going about their business. This is a great example of that style of film. Very funny and the final scene was great.
½ June 28, 2008
This film is so funny. Watch it and see...
Page 1 of 5