Redeeming Love - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Redeeming Love Reviews

Page 1 of 1
January 18, 2022
It brings me no joy to say Redeeming Love is pretty irredeemable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
January 20, 2022
Redeeming Love is like the most expensive community theatre production you've ever seen. The acting is just not there.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
January 25, 2022
I get that the story is meant to be a retelling of the book of Hosea, but the romantic packaging just doesn't work.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
January 24, 2022
Redeeming Love feels very beholden to traditional viewpoints that we cannot get away from fast enough.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
January 19, 2022
It's dismissive attitude towards the sexual trauma of young children and the exploitative nature around prostitution to help further a Hallmarky love story make a poor case for any type of salvation or, better yet, redemption.
Full Review | Original Score: C
January 18, 2022
Everything about Redeeming Love is wrongheaded
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
January 19, 2022
It's so hard to shake the lingering icky feelings about this text, which plays like "tradwife" fan fiction, the 19th-century setting protecting the story from the pesky "women's lib" movement, which would suggest that Angel have her own autonomy.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
January 18, 2022
There's something icky about this love story.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
January 21, 2022
Redeeming Love could have tried to reach a broader audience but settles for preaching to the choir.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 19, 2022
"Redeeming Love" has production polish, but not a great sense of what kind of story it wants to tell, and what kind of audience it's hoping to reach.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
January 20, 2022
Even fans of Rivers' beloved Christian romance aren't likely to think that this uninspired, overlong adaptation does the sweeping story justice.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 26, 2022
A truly godawful work that tries to combine a sordid soap opera centered around numerous acts of physical, emotional and sexual abuse visited upon a young woman in Gold Rush-era California and a weird slab of Godsploitation.
January 21, 2022
It conflates sinning with reaction to untreated trauma, and I don't think that's fair... I don't think it sends a good message.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/4
January 18, 2022
The film is too narrow-minded to explore the notion that a saint-like man may want to satisfy his normal carnal desires.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/4
January 21, 2022
An evocative visual re-creation of Gold Rush-era California provides window dressing for an otherwise predictable and melodramatic faith-based romance.
January 20, 2022
Redeeming Love struggles to make [the] romance ... convincing in any way.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
January 18, 2022
Redeeming Love is the most sexually-charged faith-based film I've ever seen. And, frankly, one of the most misguided.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 18, 2022
Full of drama and romance -- and just a touch of faith to allow both religious and non-religious viewers to enjoy it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 20, 2022
"Love" might be best embraced by the faithful, but it is well made and has much to say about the healing power of love and how we all deserve second chances.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 1