Regular Guys - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Regular Guys Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ February 23, 2013
I found it amusing and worth watching. It is a comedy, but also somewhat of a drama. I've already watched it 3 times and will probably watch it again sometime. If a man is secure in his identity he's not going to be upset because some people think he's gay.
½ December 2, 2012
hahaha, darn entertaining. this was gay comedy with a twist! would recommend it to anyone looking for a fun flick.
June 22, 2012
It's a very cute film. Very funny in parts.
½ May 30, 2012
Not the best movie...not so bad either.
March 14, 2012
It looks like it has really bad reviews, but I still wanna see it!
January 17, 2011
Good movie about a straight cop and a gay roommate. Plenty of skin.
½ November 1, 2010
A charming German comedy about acceptance of gays but the script is too weak and stoops to either preaching or cheap lines. Christoph Marius is kicked out by his girlfriend and in a contrived plot finds himself in bed with Edgar, who's gay. The question is did Chris have sex with Edgar? Is Chris gay? The movie smartly dodges these questions but there's lame jokes about neighbors having sex while the leads try to figure out their sexuality. It's also preposterous that we have Chris, Helen, and Mike as undercover cops tracking car thieves, while Edgar and Marco are involved in selling these cars, but the idle cops continue their friendships while pursued by 2 other hapless cops trying to find dirt.

The movie gives us some lovely scenes of Fankfurt. The actors are all attractive. Carin C. Tietze is a beautiful actress who plays Helen. Andreas Pietschmann is a hunk as Marco and Tim Bergmann is very charming as Edgar. It's not a pleasant way to spend an afternoon on the couch.
September 8, 2009
A platonic love story between a straight cop and a gay criminal.
August 17, 2009
Es divertida, las escenas entre el poli y el gay son delirantes, pero el final es pedorro!!
½ July 3, 2009
ein guter Film, eine gute Geschichte unerfüllte Liebe für Homosexuell und gerade.!
February 15, 2009
Decent German film. Different type of storyline, but was left with a couple things unanswered and am semi-troubled by it. Oh well. Decent movie still.
January 15, 2009
Surprisingly charming. Contrary to the very cliche-sounding plot, the story unfolds with just enough humor and silliness to make you not only tolerate the cliches, but enjoy the film despite them. It's a tad predictable, but still manages to throw a few curve balls to keep you on your toes. And even though the end result feels a tad Hollywood in how nicely (unrealistically so) wrapped up things are in the end, the journey getting there is interesting, fun and worthwhile. The characters are fleshed out and unique, the world feels genuine and the plot, while a tad muddy apart from the obvious romance triangle going on, is subtle and decent enough to keep the movie going without weighing it down. Heavy on situational humor and surprisingly light on the sexuality, it's an easy crowd pleaser (well, if you don't mind mere nudity) that doesn't push too many buttons or go out of its way to make any huge statements. Despite moments of seriousness (and often to emotional, touching effect I might add), the film maintains its light, easygoing feeling all the way through.
I wouldn't go out of my way to get the DVD or anything, but I'd willingly watch this again.
August 5, 2008
sounds like a good movie...
August 4, 2008
Hilarious and very sweet!
½ June 14, 2008
While much of the movie was based on classic gay/straight clichés, it was still amusing and entertaining. Someone once said better than I could Christoph Ohrt projects a sort of macho vulnerability that makes his character appealing/attractive. The ending was camp and definitely made it worth sitting through the clichés.
June 10, 2008
Each piece of this movie was a cliche (gay guy loves straight guy, straight guy questions his sexuality, two cops fall in love on the job, close-minded people are confronted with their own homophobia, etc.), but put together the way they were, they worked in a surprisingly innovative way. The characters were flawed and likeable, the plot was well-paced, and the movie was not afraid to shy away from the issues it raised. Surprisingly good.
½ June 1, 2008
6.5/10. Good mix of comedy, romance, action and drama - with a gay theme. Good story, always interesting and nicely acted. It does have too many storylines however. A feel good movie.
May 30, 2008
wow...could this movie have BEEN more sexual? and to think i got it from the library haha
May 2, 2008
A classic sitcom of what happens when a straight man finds himself waking up in another man's bed. I particularly loved the beginning when Christoph's luck takes a spill coming home and finding another man in the shower of the apartment he shares with his fiance, and the continued crappy luck that leads him to wake up in Edgar's bed. The ending's a hoot, and makes watching the trials and tribulations of Christoph as he struggles with finding the truth of what happened that night worth renting the movie.
½ January 4, 2008
It was okay. It was kinda weird at the end
Page 1 of 2