Repentance - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Repentance Reviews

Page 1 of 5
October 19, 2016
It's worth watching just for the great cast of actors in it.
January 26, 2016
Great acting. However, a black man talking psychobabble like a he's white leaves a discordant sound in my mind. The dialogue, at least in the beginning, pours out from Manhattan socialites, not from black people who, no matter how educated, have felt the pain of constant rejection and alienation.
½ January 21, 2016
gr8 cast are the fuel which makes this 1 go.
½ January 6, 2016
The first section is hard to take seriously but stick with it and it will all make sense! Forest Whitaker is excellent as always!!
September 1, 2015
Started out promising, then became a whole bunch of what the fuck
June 1, 2015
Dull and uninvolving, Repentance wastes it's strong cast and creepy atmosphere in a insipid retread of every cliche and trope involved with psychological horrors.
June 1, 2015
Low budget and predictable
½ May 30, 2015
Flawed but there were also interesting writing choices as well. It had a lot of things it wanted to say that other kidnap-torture movies would not have tried to say. The real accolades should go to the cast, without their talent, this movie would not have been as engaging as it was.
½ May 7, 2015
Never heard of the movie before but I was happy to have found it. Surprisingly good movie.
March 9, 2015
As far as torture porn goes this was not a bad film but not my cup of sociopathic tea either. If I could have the 1h35m back I would take it.
February 22, 2015
terrible, poorly acted, predictable and it had mike epps in a serious role ???
½ February 22, 2015
Surprising good, much better than expected.
February 10, 2015
Good but lacks an amazing storyline.
February 8, 2015
decent. there were parts of this movie that I thought could've been done better but forest Whitaker did some great acting and so did the other lead. and the twist ending wasn't bad.
February 6, 2015
The "twist" at the end I saw coming a mile away. Not a terrible movie but certainly not a great one.
February 2, 2015
Weird and didn't like how it ended. I'd pass on this movie.
February 2, 2015
Creepy but good movie.
January 10, 2015
Could have been a lot better. But Forrest Whittaker was awesome!
½ November 29, 2014
Review:
I had high expectations from this film because it had some decent actors in it, but the storyline is sketchy and the pace of the film made it quite boring. If you use your head, the film is predictable from beginning to end although it's supposed to be a suspense thriller. It also seemed a bit over acted and the director chose to jump right at the deep end which didn't give the characters that much depth. The concept, which is about a man who has psychological issues after the death of his mum and he decides to get help from a psychologist, doesn't seem to go anywhere for the first half of the movie and then it gets extremely dark out of the blue. The ending was also very sketchy so you end up feeling a bit cheated after spending so much time waiting for the story to unfold. Personally, I thought that the movie seemed a bit cheap and not very well thought through. Disappointed!

Round-Up:
Forest Whitaker is not an actor that has chose the easiest path in his career. I would have thought that he has earned the right to pick and choose what roles to take, so it might just be down to bad choices why he has starred in so many dodgy movies lately. From big movies like the Butler and The Last King Of Scotland to the dodgy Pawn, Crossfire and the Truth, he has really had a rollacoaster of a career. Maybe he's just addicted to work like Samuel L. Jackson and Robert De Niro. Anthony Mackies career has picked up lately with roles in the new Captain America, Pain and Gain and the new Avengers movie, so I doubt that this film will harm his portfolio. In all, this film must have looked good on paper but it just wasn't put together well by the director. 

Budget: $5million
Worldwide Gross: $1million

I recommend this movie to people who are into their suspense/drama/thrillers about a man whose suffering with psychological problems after the death of his mother and seeks for help from a successful book writer. 3/10
Page 1 of 5