Running the Sahara - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Running the Sahara Reviews

Page 1 of 2
February 7, 2018
This film was great! Watching the runners overcome the hardships they experienced was really inspiring, and their spirit and determination was very clear throughout the film. The scenery was beautiful, and the film gives you a chance to see a number of different landscapes in Africa. The music in the film is also great, and it made me want to learn more about these kinds of tests of endurance and what it takes to be able to finish them. I would definitely recommend this film!
January 10, 2015
Belle aventure de course pour traverser le Sahara, avec le canadien Ray Zahab. Toute un leçon de dépassement.
June 18, 2013
It made me want to huff and puff thru my minuscule running program with renewed vigor. 111 days of running across the Sahara...! The very thought has me tired and reaching for a cold 'un :-)
March 13, 2013
These guys are crazy, but the documentary is great. Really shows the strain on the bodies and emotions of everyone involved, plus amazing footage of the African Sahara.

Grade: A
January 19, 2013
Best movie in the Sahara ever.
October 4, 2012
Amazing documentary.. Unbelievable feat!!!
May 10, 2012
You got to see this movie these guys ran for 111 days that is equal to 170 marathons in a row
½ February 11, 2012
Beautiful scenery, inspiring film.
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
½ September 10, 2011
I always enjoy reading travelogues of exotic places and books about people doing things I would never, ever think of doing. So, as you could imagine, I hit the jackpot with the documentary "Running the Sahara." Personally, I think running a marathon is crazy enough but running two marathons a day on a 7500 kilometer journey from Senegal to Egypt through the Sahara Desert takes a special kind of certifiable. That's where extreme runners Charlie Engle, 42, of North Carolina, Ray Zahab, 37, of Canada, and Kevin Lin, 30, of Taiwan come in. Of course, it helps that they have the three most supportive and understanding significant others in recorded history.

While "Running the Sahara" focuses on the runners and their personalities, I was left wondering at the end about the differences between running on different surfaces, especially sand. At the same time, that leaves little room for interaction with native peoples or sightseeing. Even then, the documentary still manages to capture some memorable images of the region. It should be noted that this was before the Arab Spring(getting into Libya is a whole struggle in and of itself), so things might be different now, but what never changes is the hard lives of the peoples living in the desert which the filmmakers seek to help by building wells.
July 8, 2011
I highly recommend this!
June 19, 2011
amazing movie/documentary! must see movie!
½ June 14, 2011
A very heartwarming story of 3 runners who go across the Sahara desert. In terms of the documentary part ... it was ok ... I would have liked to see more of the outtakes as I heard Ray speak personally on some of the challenges along their expedition.
June 9, 2011
Amazing Film a must see!!!!
½ June 3, 2011
Great movie...ran from the Atlantic to the Red Sea in 111 days! Makes me wanna go out ad start running... :)
May 25, 2011
Very interesting documentary which calls attention to the lack of clean drinking water in Africa.
½ May 1, 2011
I am fascinated by ultrarunning, and these three runners' achievement is remarkable, but Running the Sahara is not a particularly well put together documentary.
April 20, 2011
Okay, i liked it, i thought the bonus behind the scenes 45min feature was a bit more exciting then the actual full length film , one shot that stood out was when the 3 guys were running into view of the pyramids..
March 25, 2011
Narrated and produced by Jason Bourne aka The Talented Mr. Ripley aka Matt Damon, the story of three runners who decided on a whim to run across the Sahara desert is incredible, if not only for the sheer spectacle of watching these guys endure the highs and lows of the journey. If you're a runner, you'll probably love this movie and feel an almost kindred bond to these guys. If you're not a runner, you'll still enjoy watching these guys slowly climb the proverbial mountain as they attempt to reach their goal. Great movie.
½ January 16, 2011
Very interesting movie about a super-human feat. We really enjoyed it.
November 23, 2010
Amazing film. Beautifully shot and scored. Their goal is to run across six African countries, anticipating two marathons per day, for eighty days ... without a day off. Charlie Engle from the United States, Kevin Lin from Taiwan, and Ray Zahab from Canada, have run together in marathons before. But this time is different. This isn't a race. It's a grueling test of will and a chance to accomplish something that no known person has ever achieved.
Page 1 of 2