Sharpe's Mission - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sharpe's Mission Reviews

Page 1 of 1
February 3, 2013
the formula is starting to wear a bit thin.
½ November 4, 2012
Sean Bean does the impossible.
½ May 22, 2011
I've become a bit of a fan of the eponymous Sharpe and his daring escapades, quite often behind enemy lines. With his gruff northern ways and rag-tag bunch of chosen men he is quite the hero. This is one of the better ones in my opinion; a nice bad guy played by Mark Strong with some good explosions and a comedy death. Sharpe is tasked with blowing up a munitions store deep in enemy territory.There are some quite amusing scenes when a poet/artist from a newspaper back home joins the group and attempts to seduce Jane Sharpe and a masked officer finds love with a gypsy girl. The main story of espionage and betrayal is enough for me - the rest was a little superficial and detracted more from the overall feel rather than enhancing it.
½ July 5, 2010
Because my Netflix jacket wasn't properly labelled, I accidentally watched this episode (#10) before watching the previous one (#9). So, I was at a bit of a loss regarding his domestic life (obviously, Sharpe got married, a second time, in #9). I could have done without the gypsy subplot, though.
½ April 27, 2010
NOT based on a book by Cornwell (even if some of those earlier movies bear little or no resemblance to their source novel - I'm looking at you, Sharpe's Gold!), with a pre-LOTR Sean Bean in the role that he would make his own.

As a tele-movie, it suffers somewhat from the limitations inherent with that format: I've always maintained that I would love to see what they could do with a bigger Hollywood budget (actually be able to have Battalions look like Battalions, for instance!).
December 28, 2009
the formula is starting to wear a bit thin.
½ March 16, 2009
Må seie at eg er fan av denne TV-filmserien :-) Ny fulltreffar her...
TheSlowJoker
Super Reviewer
October 25, 2008
sharpe is the best love all of sharpes stuff
May 10, 2008
Sharpe is teamed with a Colonel he helped promote...he soon regrets his decision
February 25, 2008
Mike & are watching the entire Richard Sharpe sereis based on the books by Bernard Cornwell. They have been great- a whole new appreciation for Sean Bean who is best known for his role Boromir in the LOTR's Fellowship of the Ring
Page 1 of 1