Sollers Point - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sollers Point Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ March 29, 2019
Be on the lookout for McCaul Lombardi, who more than carries 'Sollers Point', an under the radar indy written and directed by Matthew Porterfield. There are a lot of people in the low budget flick who appear to be 1st time actors who really can't act, but Lombardi isn't one of them.

The script may run a little thin and there may be a character added here or there that cold have been cut, but when Lombardi is on the screen he's a force.

There are plenty of problems namely the ending. The lead character is written to have so many various emotions that's it's hard to get a gauge on who he is. That doesn't change from start to finish. The conclusion is mystifying. It lacks sense and cohesion. It doesn't mean you shouldn't try to seek this out. You can tell this narratively is a bit of a mess based on the deleted scene section, however it's worthwhile to see a future star. Final Score: 6.7/10
November 7, 2018
Made me feel tense the whole way through and was wondering when it would get to the point. Never happened and ended with nothing.
½ October 18, 2018
Realism carries this indie. McCaul Lombardi stars as Keith, who is serving the final days of his 9 month home detention after a prison stretch. He's living with his father (Jim Belushi), in Baltimore, despite their strained relationship. Like with numerous movies of this genre, Keith will have to decide whether he will return to his old ways or go down a more positive path. You want to root for him, but he sure doesn't make it easy for you with his often bad decisions, as well as exhibiting his mercurial and violent side, on occasion. Overall, the film kept my interest enough to want to know how it would all turn out, but don't expect any easy answers or it all to be "wrapped up in a neat bow".
½ September 11, 2018
Why do critics like these stupid movies? The only reason I watched is because I grew up in the area. This movie lacked content, the plot, well I did not really see one. There was no action or drama in my opinion. I mean the story just limped along with no real ending.
September 10, 2018
Thought this movie was a great look at what living in Baltimore is like, from the perspective of someone with a past with the law
½ May 23, 2018
Both raw and intimate with an extremely uninhibited feel, and although I found the main character infuriating at times, Lombardi did very well to create that feeling. Def some bias here based on the setting too...
May 6, 2018
traditional non-agenda storytelling set in real-world America. The borderline between a respectable suburban lifestyles and criminal risk and complications is a very thin one in this film where the protagonist Keith is caught between those two worlds. While the plot is somewhat familiar everything is well executed. A welcome antidote to the current film market which avoids contemporary realism at costs in favor of make-believe and politics. Would not be at all surprised if Sollers Point gets awards nominations.
April 10, 2018
it will bring more negative attention to soller point then it already has. horrible idea
Page 1 of 1