Soulkeeper - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Soulkeeper Reviews

Page 1 of 1
October 30, 2013
Wednesday, October 30, 2013

(2001) Soulkeeper
COMEDY HORROR

Although, the actual VHS case has a cool 3D cover on it, it's still a mediocre effort which is reminiscent of "Highway to Hell" made in 1991 because of it's laid back approach on the horror genre. Straight-to-rental but contains some familiar scenes to other films like "The Mummy" movies with Brendon Fraser and "From Dusk Til' Dawn". Written and directed by Darin Ferriola starring Rodney Rowland as Corey and Kevin Patrick Walls as Terrence, lightweight and sometimes clumsy thieves who're working together. They've just stolen a hat from some small museum that was supposed to be worn by Abe Lincoln and made some money out of it. They're then somehow get hired by a person who calls himself Mr. Pascal played by Brad Dourif, you know the guy who played Grima Wormtongue, the greasy snake guy from "The Lord Of The Ring" movies. Anyways, Mr. Pascal hires them to confiscate and steal some emblems as well as performing other tasks with reasons unbeknownst to viewers but has something to do with the reincarnation of a demon which has killed some ritualistic believers in the first few minutes, and also has the ability to possess other peoples human forms.

Labelled as a light weight horror extravaganza which I think I only chuckled at least once throughout my entire experience since much of it is meandering. It has something do with the two stars entering what looked like the devil's brothel, unaware that the girls are really demons. I think the uncut TV version is slightly different than the VHS version for I'm not really sure since it was awhile ago since I had seen this.

2 out of 4 stars
June 6, 2013
this is one for Sam Rami Evu; Dead corny humor horror comedy and the bad effects of the 80's
October 28, 2011
I dont want to see it
½ October 19, 2011
The perfect flick... if you're 15 years old, have gotten your older brother to buy you beer, and are desperate to ogle some fake boobies and rubber monsters. Otherwise, it's a pretty lame attempt at horror-comedy laced with half-assed Hollywood supernaturalism. Keep your soul at a distance!
May 17, 2011
What the fuck was that shit.
June 29, 2009
One of the greatest horrors ive seen as a kid
May 31, 2009
Or as it should be called dude wheres my relic. A fun, enjoyable b movie that tries to appeal to both horror fans and comedy fans ( i mean any film that classes the backstreet boys as a force of supernatural that can't be explained ain't all that bad). With their tongue firmly planted in their cheek the two main leads stay on the right side of likeable and half of what they say is just so instantly quoteable.
November 17, 2008
If your in the mood, an entertaining horror-comedy that doesn't take itself to seriously. Two down and out thieves are hired by Brad Dourif to steal the Rock of Lazurus and prevent a demon from bringing evil souls back to life, along the way encountering monsters, sirens, a guardian angel who seems content to let them do all the work (played by the great character actor Robert Davi), and a bevy of scantily clad women. Makes you laugh in spite of yourself. Check it out.
August 28, 2008
Better than I thought it'd be. I guess that's the newest thing, shitty cover=good movie. Great cover=shitty movie. Just to mix it up for you.
½ March 24, 2008
Could have been a lot better.
½ February 11, 2008
Soulkeeper has a lot of the usual strait-to-video, B-film conventions. This film also consist of many other attributes in which so many B-movies lack, such as originality, good direction, decent acting, medium level effects, witty dialogue, and some humor. Oh yeah, and lesbian demons/vampires!
September 15, 2007
now that looks really SWEET!!!
½ August 25, 2007
subtle humor at its best. probably the only horror film spoof that i can watch consistently and not find it boring or childish.
August 18, 2007
Nothing great, but fun.
August 13, 2007
Straight to video B horror movie - CLASSIC! I received an e-mail a couple of years ago from the director after he had read my original glowing internet review of his film. To illustrate that I can not be won over or influenced by "Hollywood" and maintain my unbiased objectivity as a critic - 5 stars!
Page 1 of 1