Spontaneous Combustion - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Spontaneous Combustion Reviews

Page 2 of 2
½ May 25, 2009
Watchable, though not spectacular. Dourif, when in shouting fits, just screams 'chucky' throughout. Still it aint bad.
May 23, 2009
there's a widely circulated idea that steven spielberg actually directed poltergeist, and that the texas chainsaw massacre was a fluke. spontaneous combustion is good evidence in support for that idea. exhaustively boring and poorly directed film about a man who is a firestarter (just like in that stephen king movie, what was it called again...). even brad dourif, who usually rules, can't save this dud. there is a redeeming scene though, when brad burns director john landis through a telephone land line...
December 1, 2008
If all the pauses and scenes of people talking on the phone and moments of people just walking or driving somewhere while nothing particularly interesting was going on were edited out, you would have a fun and sadistic little short film on your hands of people simply bursting into flames.

11.30.08
117th Film of 2008
½ November 4, 2008
I like to watch this film as if it were the origin story to a super hero comic. Brad Dourif is FIRE-MAN or somethin'. Dourif, by the by, supplies a kick ass performance. VF.
½ July 28, 2008
This movie gets 2/12 just because Dourif is oddly engaging.
½ June 3, 2008
Brad Dourif, in my opinion, is one of America's great weirdos, and has been greatly underused. Here he does a great job screaming and setting things on fire with his brain, but unfortunately, this movie doesn't have much else to recommend it.
May 23, 2008
Un-sodding watchable. Not even funny.
½ May 14, 2008
Director Tobe Hooper, capable of much much more, works lazily under the impression that sudden bursts of fire both generate scares and heighten drama, but is proven wrong at every step. On the whole this is an uninspired film, but it works thanks mainly to a great lead performance from Brad Dourif, an actor I've always admired and who is a wonderful freak of a man (kinda like a psychotic version of Mark Hamill, I've always thought). Also on the plus side, you do get to see John Landis spontaneously combust, which is fun...
April 3, 2008
Moderately amusing film about a young man (the awesome Brad Dourif) being the son of parents who were testing in atomic weapons experiments which results in his ability to control fire and electricity, which also leads to terrible affects to his mind and body. Kind of a boring film, but has its moments. This is really different for Hooper, especially with the anticlimactic ending.
½ March 4, 2008
As much as I love Brad Dourif, he can't save this steaming pile. There's a few neat effects and a funny cameo from John Landis, but it ain't worth it.
February 17, 2008
i liked this one. its old school and somehow the story was decent.
½ February 16, 2008
Well, Hooper is something more than just a man. Being serious and filming such a shit - Pure Hooper style. Troma at least is making funny shit )))))
February 6, 2008
This is the worst film ever - I'd rather drown in a septic tank.
January 26, 2008
Someday I might give this a second try but right now I can only say that Tobe Hooper disappointed me again. First Eaten Alive and now this.
½ January 17, 2008
Wo, what was this? this was kinda....should I say, freaky
January 11, 2008
from the maker of texas chainsaw massacre and poultergeist came this entertaining, old school thriller. a child is born to a couple who were subjects of an experiment below the blast of a hydrogen bomb in 1955. it possesses some sort of power to incinerate things and quickly becomes an orphan. the movie focuses mostly on his paranoia that people know things about his life that he didn't know and people around town are dying by spontaneous human combustion all over town all the time. as sam (or david as he later finds) uncovers more in his life he finally makes it back to this guy lou would seems to be pulling some strings that he didn't see. this movie had good characters, a story that was easy to follow and good effects and acting. it had some great camera shots and tricks and hooper did a great job as writer/director on this one. an enjoyable watch for fans of his other movies and good for anyone who wants a different type of thriller. the one thing they could've worked on more was the make up effects for arms and hands... they were awful.
½ December 5, 2007
This one's not too bad, for a very simple story. Basically a guy just keeps catching on fire due to the experiments done on his parents done by the goverment. There are some great performances here, especially by Dourif. Pretty creepy.
November 26, 2007
Hey! It's the guy who does Chucky's voice!(among other things) Cool plot
November 19, 2007
the worst film ever made! pure genius.
Page 2 of 2