The Square Peg - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Square Peg Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ November 19, 2013
Another outing for Pitkin and Mr Grimsdale in this loveable romp in occupied France during WW2.
½ June 12, 2012
An incredibly funny comedy about a simpleton who after working for municipality in road construction gets enrolled to His Majesty's engineering corps to fight Germans on the French territory. He find himself in a whole bunch of awkward situations and regardless of his seeming lack of wit copes with them better than you could ever expect. Nearly all the means of getting the audience aching with laughter available to the filmmakers by the time the film was shot were amply used, and Norman Wisdom plays magnificently well. A small romantic episode adds a third dimension to this B&W comedy galore.
½ September 25, 2011
"Mr Grimsdale!" I remember really enjoying this when I first saw it... but I was only 9 years old. Unfortunately it hasn't improved with age. Sorry, but slapstick isn't funny any more.
June 28, 2011
cheeky & witty this brit comedy shines
½ January 31, 2011
This is a film of two half's really, the first half is like most of the other Norman Wisdom films, very slap stick comedy, and not that intelligent. I do like the slap stick stuff, and Norman is one of the best at it, I love the scene where he is hiding in the hole shouting out orders as the military are trying to do their marching. The second half of the film is quite serious, Norman ends up in France and gets captured, he looks identical to the German in charge, played by Norman of course. But having two different characters in the film makes the story very interesting, and more of a drama than a comedy. It also shows that although Norman is extremely good at comic roles, his also a brilliant straight actor too, later in life in television work he would prove how great a straight actor he is. This is one of the best early Wisdom films, and everything seems to gel well here, this is must see film, and worth taking seriously.
½ August 24, 2010
not my fave norman wisdom film but still a laugh
½ March 14, 2010
Very naff ... but at the same time perfect for a retro Sunday lunchtime movie. Little doubt that Christopher Waltz modelled his oscar winning performance on Wisdom's General Schreiber.
Could have earned an extra half star had the bizarre scene with Hattie Jacques been deleted ... just what were they thinking???
July 19, 2009
lol watch some of the films
½ January 28, 2009
One of Norman Wisdon's best. This WW2 set comedy has him playing council worker Norman Pitkin under edward Chapman's Mr Griiiimsdale (!). When both are drafted into the army comic situations ensue. Honor Blackman plays it dead straight as an undercover agent and Hattie Jacques has a lovely scene as an opera singer. Likeable fun.
August 18, 2008
ATTENTION!! Mr Grimsdale!!OOOOOOOOOOhhhhhhhhh,I love Norman Wisdom,it is so predictable but hey who cares,this is a classic in my eyes anyway.A good saturday afternoon veiwing in my opinion very very funny.
June 27, 2008
not bad not a fan of norman wisdom though
April 12, 2008
Norman Wisdom is always funny, innocent and thought provoking
February 7, 2008
you are a spy and we have methods for making spies talk
January 15, 2008
Brilliant. Really funny. Wisdom was a genius - the British film industry's Chaplin.
January 13, 2008
Light but entertaining humour from Norman Wisdom in his Pitkin role. It's hard to see why it is so popular in Albania, but this is a good example of a British comedy from this era.
½ June 4, 2007
an epic classic, i wish more people were touched by his greatness
½ June 2, 2007
hilarious.....a must see.....
March 30, 2007
oh! er! Mr GRimsdale!!!!!!!!!...........
Page 1 of 1