Stealing Home - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Stealing Home Reviews

Page 2 of 10
July 29, 2009
I had the OST when I was in junior high but I only got to see the movie this morning. Beautiful.
April 7, 2009
I miss the simple but nostalgic movies of this era. Don't get fooled that this is another sports movie. This film uses baseball as a metaphor for a teenager's unfulfilled dreams. You'll be sent to a time when playing catch with your father brought tremendous joy, when your first crush brought unimaginable thrills and heartache, and when your best friend didn't need a trendy acronym to be forever. Sure plenty of the acting was undesirable (Foster & Jenkins aside), but the trip down memory lane was worth it.
½ April 6, 2009
Good performances by Jodie Foster and Mark Harmon. A nice little coming of age picture. Feel good, even though it has it's share of death in it. Enjoyable.
½ March 16, 2009
David Foster's BEST scoring for music...
February 20, 2009
I adore this movie! It's a love affair....with BASEBALL!
½ January 12, 2009
it can be a sad movie, but I would say this is simply beautiful movie. good music too.
December 29, 2008
I Loooooooooooooove This Movie !
December 14, 2008
Absolutely LOVE this movie from the 80s.
½ November 20, 2008
I ran across this movie today, and had to watch it for the forty seventh time. Stealing Home, is another movie I adore, that is actually on my favorites list. It is an often overlooked 80s movie, that really is a wonderful treat. It's the story of a washed up ball player, Billy Wyatt, played by Mark Harmon. He hasn't been home in ages, when he is called home, to attend to some personal business. As he searches for answers, you are taken for a ride into his past. Along this journey, he remembers what's really important in life, and ends up finding his lost livelihood. It's a great story of love, passion, friendship, loss, and the growing pangs of being a teenager. It reminds you of how those you love have a profound effect on your life, and to always take time to enjoy the little moments that make it all worth while.It stars William McNamara as teenage Billy, admittedly awkward at times and adorably charming. This movie also stars Jodie Foster as Katie, a very bewitching young lady with an abundant lust to explore life. Jonathan Silverman plays teenage Alan Appleby. Alan is the bright and funny geek. This movie earns bonus credit in my book, for casting Harold Ramis as the adult Alan Appleby. This movie has a fun 60s inspired soundtrack, including Baby it's You by the Shirelles and Poison Ivy by The Coasters. Stealing Home is fantastic emotional ride. There are moments to laugh, and moments to cry. It is a must see, for anyone who hasn't sat and watched it.
½ October 18, 2008
This movie had really good potential, but came off a little slow and dry.
September 21, 2008
GOOD MOVIE WORTH WATCHING.
½ September 18, 2008
I knew I was in trouble when the flick opened with a painfully obvious voiceover from Mark Harmon's character, harping on how much he missed Jodie Foster's character. We never really find out a whole lot about either of them or their relationship to each other. I only bought the movie because I like "baseball movies," and the title caught my eye when I was browsing the bargin bin at the grocery store. There are only two baseball scenes in this tired old movie, and both of them are shot in such a way that I was left wondering what happened. Sure, our hero won both games, I know that's all I'm supposed to care about, but as a baseball fan, I was left wondering how. We only see Harmon running the bases, and we never see where the ball is. Even Jodie Foster couldn't save this dreck with her small number of scenes. The overacting is so unbearable, I had to follow my viewing with a long midday nap.
September 13, 2008
another hidden favorite that few know about, but I cannot get through without crying!
September 11, 2008
bitter....empty....beautiful....
August 14, 2008
Best 80s movie ever! :)
July 28, 2008
A little sappy, but I love movies set in this period. And way better, I think, than if they tried to make the same movie today.
July 9, 2008
I don't trust you Bill
½ June 30, 2008
You slept with my prom date!
½ June 24, 2008
One of my all-time favorite movies. Can watch it over and over again.
June 14, 2008
Mark Harmon! Greatest actor in the world!
Page 2 of 10