Stuart: A Life Backwards - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Stuart: A Life Backwards Reviews

Page 3 of 4
December 6, 2012
Well done.. Sad but true story. Tom did so well!
December 1, 2012
In this sad take of a homeless alcoholic/drug addict there is a remarkable performance from Tom Hardy and further evidence to suggest he is the finest British actor of his generation.
½ November 20, 2012
???????????????????Tom Hardy?:)
Boing-boing-whoosh~
½ August 23, 2012
Tom Hardy gives a career best performance as Stuart a homeless, sometimes violent alcoholic who also indulges in drugs from time to time. Benedict Cumberbatch co-stars as Alexander a writer who also works as a carer for the homeless to make a it more pocket money.


The story like the novel is told backwards so from the off we learn that Stuart has passed away and Alexander narrates the story like the book and tells the humorous and heartbreaking tale of his good friend Stuart. When the owners of the homeless hostel Alexander works at and Stuart visits are arrested the two meet at a meeting to free the couple and strike a bond when Alexander realizes that there is more to Stuart than meets the eye as he proves himself to be intelligent and he even comes up with a way of peaceful protest that leads to the carers being released. When Alexander decides to write a book about Stuart the two begin to bind and develop a loving friendship and as Alexander learns more about Stuarts past he comes to realize why the seemingly intelligent young man ended up becoming homeless but Alexander also has to put up with Stuarts drinking and his rage of violent outbreaks that occur. Hardy plays

Based on a novel that was also a true story Stuart: A life backwards is easily one of the best independent films I have ever seen largely due to the chemistry between the leading men, Hardy's performance as Stuart is so convincing and strong it is amazing that not that many people know about this film and it is a shame that the film was made for television and not given a wide release as he would have won numerous awards for his portrayal, he goes from dark to joyful at the click of the finger sometimes and makes you care so much for the character, Benedict Cumberbatch is also very good in his role as Alexander but this is Hardy's movie from start to finish and he makes the most of it.
July 27, 2012
Tom Hardy's most impressive role, as Stuart Short. An incredible story told backwards.
July 23, 2012
Tom Hardy's best work yet.
July 12, 2012
Great Acting by tom hardy! And good story its really sad though
July 7, 2012
Tom Hardy was absolutely amazing and convincing, in this true movie .
He puts his heart and soul into this movie portraying a homeless alcoholic,really believable and in some parts quite emotional.
This movie is a must to watch,well worth 5 stars .
June 20, 2012
A remarkable performance by Tom Hardy & Benedict Cumberbatch, that tells the backward story of Stuart Shorter.
April 14, 2012
A normal-looking Benedict, how nice! I was extremely pleased to see Benny playing a normal bloke for a change, but it's still a sad story, and it's true. I'd like to think of Stuart: A Life Backwards as a tragedy disguised as a comedy, 'cause it really is. At first, it seems like a perfectly harmless movie, with the cheerful music and funny drawings and all. And then, you slowly realize it's actually a very, very heartbreaking story about a boy, whose life had been nothing but unfortunate, and his friendship with this man who finds him interesting and would go as far as to write a biography or even a movie for him. Worst of all, it's all true. Stuart existed and died. Looking at Stuart's life backwards, that's the idea, isn't it? I really have to applaud Tom Hardy for his insanely good acting though as Stuart as I hardly recognized him.
½ March 12, 2012
An amazing amazing movie. It can be funny, but sad at the same time and really gets to me. The performances are amazing, especially Hardy's.
½ February 17, 2012
Very touching. I haven't read the book but I definitely want to.
February 15, 2012
One of my favourite films of all time. Stuart: A Life Backwards is a tale of a writer played by Benedict Cumberbatch penning a novel about a local homeless hero called Stuart, portrayed by a superb Tom Hardy. The story, like the title suggests, is played backwards and is narrated by Cumberbatch. Based on a true story this is a hidden gem.
½ February 14, 2012
One of the best movies I've seen in such a long time
February 5, 2012
This movie is a roller coaster, just like Stuart himself. It will make you laugh, cry, feel good and scared. At times you'll love it, and hate it. But in the end, with great performances by Tom and Benedict. This movie will hit the spot with its charm, story and unique way of presenting itself. One of my all time favourits. A truly great movie.
January 20, 2012
Tom Hardy = amazing!
½ December 2, 2011
Pretty good film, very under-rated and Tom Hardy is absolutely phenomenal. Like always.
August 11, 2011
Everytime i watch it i cry and laugh as Stuart was obviously a funny bloke, but my god so full of demons so much pain, and so well acted by Tom Hardy. His best performance bar none, i doubt he'll top this.
½ July 31, 2011
Heart wrenching true story about the life of a tramp played exellently by Tom Hardy, who is clearly a top class actor that just needs a big break.
Oh, I just noticed that he's got his big break now, good for him.
Page 3 of 4