Stuart: A Life Backwards - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Stuart: A Life Backwards Reviews

Page 1 of 4
February 16, 2019
Two fantastic actors craft a believable friendship in a very real world. That they are working from biography helps, but their performances are top notch. Hardy inhabits his role with his usual immersion. You can almost smell him coming off the screen.
March 27, 2018
Tom Hardy shows his talent yet again in his sincere portrayal of Stuart Shorter.
March 15, 2018
The movie style is a bit raw but it was a great movie. Benedict Cumberbatch and Tom Hardy play their leads role well. You can see why 10 years later they are both big stars.
½ July 21, 2017
Humble but effective, this small biopic based on Alexander Masters's research on a homeless-sociopath keeps itself simple but always focused on its main target, but even if the film never tries to reach a grandeur lever of drama or complexity, it still possess a touchingly enough hook for casual viewers, and the delight of enjoy both, Benedict Cumberbatch and Tom Hardy in their early days.
June 26, 2017
Tom Hardy eclipses all and everything. An exceptional performance from a young Mr. Hardy. He really is the greatest actor of my time as far as I'm concerned.
April 25, 2017
it will not be for everyone but very interesting and well acted in my humble opinion.
March 24, 2017
Hardy and Cumberbach....
heartbreaking and inspiring
½ March 15, 2017
Hardy x Cumberbatch.
½ February 2, 2017
Amazing job by Tom Hardy!! Should read the book first to get a better understanding of events in movie, but even without reading it, the movie is incredible. Hardy can nail ANY role given him. I'm glad they made a movie from the book. Just wish the DVD wasn't only region 2 (UK). Entertaining and heartfelt. You get attached to the characters easily. One of my favorite movies of all time. Well worth watching!!
September 14, 2016
Incredible film. A real must-see. Tom Hardy's performance is one of the best I've ever seen.
June 7, 2016
A really great adaptation of the book. Dark yet funny. Poignant and uplifting. Fantastic performances by both Cumberbatch and Hardy.
½ March 28, 2016
Excellent must see,you should learn something from this .I did.
March 22, 2016
An incredible performance by Tom! So touching, so honest and real. It was amazing.
March 21, 2016
I stumbled across this film while browsing through HBO's movie list, and I'm very glad I did. Tom Hardy gives probably one of his best performances as the funny and heartbreaking Stuart, who I was surprised I ended up caring so much about. I loved how the story went back and forth from Stuart's life to the present day, because it kept revealing more and more about a homeless person anyone wouldn't have otherwise cared for. It's a painful reminder that the homeless are still people, which is something we often forget.
August 28, 2015
One of the most beautiful movies.
½ May 24, 2015
A lively and energetic biopic that is simultaneously heart-warming and heart-breaking. It's also home to two absolutely brilliant performances from Tom Hardy and Benedict Cumberbatch.
May 6, 2015
Amazing emotional story, great acting by everyone.
½ March 17, 2015
Really good, it was funny and at time serious, tom hardy was really really good and so was Benedict as always!
November 29, 2014
This film is based on a true story & it stars two absolutely fantastic actors early in their careers‚" Benedict Cumberbatch and Tom Hardy. It tells the story of a social worker who meets a man with mental health issues & learns about him- almost despite himself. They become friends & Stuart (the man with the mental health issues) agrees to allow the social worker to write his life story‚"with the condition that he write it starting at the end & progressing to childhood. It's quite a sad story, but it really made me think about Stuart's life‚"&from there it made the plight of the mentally ill who are fending for themselves due to cuts in funding for treatment much more real. An excellent, thought provoking film.
October 3, 2014
A very heartfelt story about an unusual friendship and an unfortunate life. Like the book, it's a movie with no answers, really, but it stays in your head.
Page 1 of 4