Summer City - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Summer City Reviews

Page 1 of 1
March 13, 2019
Summer city was a really good movie. It was actually my first time watching it and it was very great. I finally got to watch Mel Gibsonā(TM)s first movie back when he was extremely young in his younger days. Mel Gibson was like 21 years old when he did summer city. I thought it was pretty cool seeing Mel Gibson when he was a lot younger. Such a unique story about being on a beach and hanging out with friends. I really did enjoy it.
Super Reviewer
August 30, 2013
Horrible film. It's hard to understand anything at all because of the accents, sound quality, and the story in general. I'm sure there's drama in there somewhere, but they needed to make it clearer.
October 27, 2012
A carefree summer ends tragically for four young guys after one seduces an underage teen. Salvages itself at the end. Really took a while to get to the point. Hard to understand the dialogue in parts due to the poor sound and Australian accents.
March 21, 2012
Not the best Mel Gibson movie but he sure looked great!!!
Super Reviewer
½ October 7, 2011
A teen morality tale, much like the American films of the late fifties and early sixties, told Aussie style, that also happens to be the film debut of Mel Gibson. Interesting to catch a glimpse of life Down Under reflective of American surf culture. Released in 1977!
April 7, 2011
A carefree summer ends tragically for four young guys after one seduces an underage teen. Salvages itself at the end. Really took a while to get to the point. Hard to understand the dialogue in parts due to the poor sound and Australian accents.
September 2, 2010
it turns into a slasher-horror towards the end!
½ April 21, 2009
Ho-hum Aussie effort with friends getting away to the surf for a weekend which ends in disaster. Deservedly drifted into obscurity and notable only for being Mel Gibson & Steve Bisley's film debuts, who would reteam in MAD MAX.
January 8, 2008
Wierd film...reminded me of a Spaghetti western with the cinematography. Liked Mel, but couldn't hardly understand the script
Page 1 of 1