Sunday in the Park with George - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sunday in the Park with George Reviews

Page 2 of 5
August 25, 2008
Can't beat Mandy and Bernadette....
½ August 14, 2008
Sondheim has had countless successes, but SUNDAY IN THE PARK WITH GEORGE is near the top. The story's a bit uneven, but the score is consistently gorgeous.
August 8, 2008
Fuck Oklahoma. This is a musical and it's beautiful.
July 14, 2008
I could watch this again and again.
½ July 7, 2008
so i watched this becuase i saw it on the Tony's "Move On". Honestly it wasn't as good as i thought it would be. It was interesting since some of it was about George's life but the music was as good as i thought it would be. My favorite song was "Move On" and it was one of the last songs. It was interesting though, not my favorite musical.
July 5, 2008
The 3 stars is just because of the brilliant music. Other than that, this is a disgrace. Maybe I've been spoiled by seeing the beyond amazing revival with Jenna Russell and Daniel Evans {who are both thousands and thousands times better than Miss Peters and Mr. Patinkin, in both terms of acting AND singing} Plus, the costuming in this is horrendous! TWEED? Oh-k then. *shudders*
July 4, 2008
A play about sacrifice, love and how everything changes through time (as it should). The artist sacrifices within his personal life to create and his love sacrifices both by being with him and then not being with him. And how (like everything) it all changes over time. And how Change - as much as any single moment - is beautiful.
June 21, 2008
Stephen Sondheim's brilliant portrait of artist George Seurat as told through the characters in his painting "Sunday Afternoon on the Isle of La Grande Jatte". Seurat was an artist that some deemed genius and others found not worthy a glance (and it holds true today). He would use tiny dots to fill his canvas instead of typical brush strokes. Through Sondheim's musical we get to learn about the man Seurat. There are two acts. Then (during Seurat's life) and in the 80s (we meet his great-grandson).
Sondheim's darlings Mandy Patinkin and Bernadette Peters are nothing less than wonderful and the clever and very smart Tony Award winnng set designs are just enjoyable. Co-created by James Lapine who also worked on "Into the Woods" with Sondheim.
½ June 5, 2008
I didn't know if this would be here, but I guess it is! This is a taped version of the stage musical, and it's superb. The music is fantastic...the finale of Act I, "Sunday", is probably one of the most gorgeous things ever. Mandy Patinkin and Bernadette Peters are astonishingly awesome in everything they do, and this is no exception. Be sure to check this one out!
May 6, 2008
Is what it is. Tape recording of one of the best musicals ever, not really a film persay
May 1, 2008
This musical is sensational. The score is magnificant, and really blows me away. It is veluptuous and overwhelming in so many ways. The two things that are most important to leave behind when you die are family and art. What a deep concept indeed. The finale to both acts, "Sunday" is emotionally stirring. Can Sondheim get any better?
½ April 25, 2008
Nearly Perfect. The Start of the modern section is a little lame but everything else is brilliant. The whole first act makes me tear up a million times.
March 23, 2008
One of the great testaments to the artist of all time. Extraordinary beyond words.
March 17, 2008
Possibly Sondheim's greatest musical. Certainly his most personal. The themes are grand but the story is simple and the effect is perfect. No other musical covers so much spiritual ground so effectively and so subtly: Creation, eternity, family, art, balance, commercialism, spirituality...and more...all covered in Sondheim's masterpiece. Bernadette and Mandy both give the performances of their careers. This is one that demands extra viewings. Begin your viewings now. It should be noted that this filmed version of the show has some technical struggles, particularly with sound. You'll find yourself constantly turning the sound up and back down, unfortunately. But don't let that minor tech quibble keep you from watching this.
March 8, 2008
This show is amazing. Everything about it is stunning. Stephen Sondheim is not always for everyone, and granted this isn't his most accessible musical, but it's fabulous nonetheless. I would definitely take the time to see it, even if you're not a fan of Sondheim, because there are a few great songs scattered throughout the show. Really listen and watch. The first act is something you have to think through, to a certain degree, in order to make a lot of sense from some parts. Unlike most Sondheim shows, it ends on a positive note, which is a plus.
March 8, 2008
Interesting musical... I know it's brilliant, but beyond that I'm not sure what to think. You should see it just because it's highly unlikely that this hard-to-produce show will be coming to your area soon.
February 24, 2008
Visually stunning, wonderfull performances. Sondheim is not for everyone and this show isn't his most accessable. Fantastic never the less. Go and see the Broadway revival. Daniel Evans is wonderful in it and less intense than mandy patinkin
February 23, 2008
Loved it. Sondheim is a genius, and Pantinkin & Peters are a joy to watch.
January 20, 2008
Gorgeous, superb acting, flawless really. It really made me feel. I am an artist myself, and I could relate on a personal level to the character(s). This was brilliant, Sondheim is a genus. The music is so great- so meaningful. Art, love, relationships, humanity, sacrifice, beauty and change are the components to this wonderful show.
WHY DONT THEY TAPE MORE MUSICALS?!
January 5, 2008
A play about sacrifice, love and how everything changes through time (as it should). The artist sacrifices within his personal life to create and his love sacrifices both by being with him and then not being with him. And how (like everything) it all changes over time. And how Change - as much as any single moment - is beautiful.
Page 2 of 5