Superman Unbound - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Superman Unbound Reviews

Page 1 of 11
May 12, 2021
This is the first time Braniac is a centralized baddie in one of these movies. The story is kind of boring with a lot Supergirl action.
July 26, 2018
The restricting and streamlining of Brainiac and Krypton mythology is well done, but the villain and his threat and ultimately less interesting and less entertaining than the interactions between Lois and Clark and Superman and his cousin. Some of the character models are a little odd (huge chin Superman, anyone?) and animation is a little silted in the quiet scenes, but nice and fluid for the plethora of action sequences. Fortunately, the voice acting is great, enhancing those character moments where this adaptation really shines.
June 18, 2018
After the last Superman made-for-DVD movie, "Superman vs. the Elite," I began to see that the Bruce Timm-era of really great DC properties in animation had started to lose their way. I was happy to see that "Unbound" improved upon the last outing, albeit with only slightly better animation. The unfortunate thing, though, is that the story wasn't all that better. To me, the best Superman stories of the past 20 years include Brainiac. And as much as I like Geoff Johns, I didn't care for this Brainiac story as much as I did how they had him in the Superman Animated Series. Humanizing him into the android form reminded me too much of the old comics and Legion of Doom-era Brainiac, and that just wasn't very interesting to me. However, he was a lot more interesting in THIS android form than in those old comics and cartoons. Just not as good as TAS. It was definitely worth seeing if you are a fan of this genre. The voice actors were very good, even if they were very unknown. Andrea Romano continues to prove the she knows how to cast these characters and stay true to fan's views of them.
June 4, 2018
I found the character design of this to be less than ideal as well, but I still really enjoyed the movie. However, i do feel like the way Brainiac was defeated was kind of lame. It was well written though.
May 18, 2018
Love it...finally a great Supes story.
½ September 26, 2017
Terrible Dc animated film.
August 22, 2017
You'd think that a supercomputer space robot would be able to come up with a better name for itself than Brainiac.
July 19, 2017
Beautifully animated , Well directed animated Superman movie. Brilliance at its best...
jamrcla
Super Reviewer
½ May 17, 2017
Easily the best animated Superman movie to date, It had a good story that is easy to follow and it has some good action scenes too, A little more humour helped too, It was nice to see Brainiac being used well this time as a good main villain is what makes the film, Let's hope any future Superman animated movies can be just as good.
½ February 14, 2017
Superman Unbound shows the true power, strength, and heart of The Man of Steel. This very human story gives life into the alien that protects the world. Artwork, direction, acting, and storyline all feel perfectly done. Most hear Tim Daley as the voice of Superman, but to me Matt Bomer is the best Superman we have had yet.
October 24, 2016
DC animated movie, based on the Superman Brainiac comics.

I think, with Superman stories, the thing is it can go either one of two ways: either we get the origin/introspection/Clark Kent story, or we get the Superman punching things (usually some sort of pseudo sci-fi) method.

This falls very much into the latter category.
August 7, 2016
Based off Braniac story; focused a lot on Kara. Good animation, but didn't stick to me. Maybe because I'm not a big Braniac fan
June 3, 2016
this video sucked...superman has such a rich history and this does not do it justice!! it felt rushed and without passion ,i think it is the worst of the superman animations!!!
October 17, 2015
Its Good Superman Movie It Has Many Great Action Scenes
July 25, 2015
Pretty cool. Worth another watch
½ July 19, 2015
the I Carfarefxdazszuxu
½ June 14, 2015
While Brainiac is done some justice in this movie, it is so full of illogical and fallacious stunts and events that it bogs the film down to a joke.
April 12, 2015
Similar to the way the Batman films retains the stylish darkness, this animated counterpart of Superman released at the same time as the live-action counterpart refresh "Man of Steel" retains the superb nature - also mean as an average Superman film that excels. It's packed with sharp animation that'd made it action-packed and strong, some warmth that was well-developed in both the romance and the family value area, and continues on communicating another message about the planet's diversity and environment that Superman protects. With those qualities being said, it's a combo of special qualities that were seen in some of DC Comics' previous entries. (B+)

(Full review coming soon - with better wording probably)
April 6, 2015
weak as superman defeats everything with ease.
½ December 25, 2014
cheesy, predictable, kinda brassy and of course doesn't diminish my disgust of the Superman..
Page 1 of 11