Tcm Presents And The Oscar (R) Goes To... - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Tcm Presents And The Oscar (R) Goes To... Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Super Reviewer
½ November 24, 2016
A harmless collection of tidbits about the Academy Awards that moves from one topic to the next in a clumsy, rushed way and assumes that everybody knows the stars who are mentioned and/or speak to the camera, but still the film is enjoyable as a pleasant curiosity.
April 18, 2016
good doc and review! another lost
½ February 17, 2016
Could have been a little more history-oriented, a little less US Weekly. But good shit nonetheless.
½ February 7, 2016
A good history of the academy and the oscars.
July 15, 2015
"And the Oscar Goes To..." is a celebration of Hollywood, the film industry, and the biggest night of the year. This documentary gathers the perspectives of Hollywood's greatest stars to tell the history of the Oscars, show what happens backstage, and educate us on the different categories. The film is worth watching for the unprecedented amount of classic movie clips and the greatest acceptance speeches, but there is a lot more at the heart of it. It sheds light on a lot of things that we never think about, like the blacklisting of many actors and writers during the Cold War. I gained a new perspective when the film pointed out that, each time a person wins an award, there are four more losers bitterly sitting in the audience. I also never considered how devastating it must be for the films that receive a lot of nominations and then watch another film sweep the entire ceremony. Just imagine receiving 11 nominations for "The Color Purple" and then sitting in the audience as "Out of Africa" received 7 Oscars and you received none, or receiving 7 nominations for "Seabiscuit" and watching "The Return of the King" receive Oscars in all of its nominated categories while you didn't get a single one. This documentary is the complete package and will either help you better appreciate the Oscars or reaffirm your love of cinema. Steven Spielberg, Jane Fonda, George Clooney, Helen Mirren, Tom Hanks, Cher, and Jennifer Hudson are just a handful of the celebrities that bring Hollywood to life as the film progresses. "And the Oscar Goes To..." is a must for any movie fan and will inspire you to revisit all of your favorite Hollywood classics over and over again.
½ April 12, 2015
A interesting look into the history of the Oscars and the people that won one.
March 21, 2015
A great rainy-day Netflix selection.
March 8, 2015
Wonderful--just for the opportunity to revisit so many of the star performers from the motion picture industry. If readers love movies, see: Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers in a five second dance routine on stage at one of the Oscars; a quick glimpse of Gene Kelly from "Singin' in the Rain"; the heartbreak and the horror from the opening Omaha beach D-Day landing scene of "Saving Private Ryan"; Lillian Gish; Bette Davis--one could go on and on. For this reviewer, the joy of catching a momentary glimpse of Jimmy Cagney, a personal all-time favorite. From the streets of the Yorkville section of Manhattan, a song and dance chorus boy, to a Hollywood extra and becoming a full-fledged Hollywood star, his story represents a capsulized version of so many others who show up in this documentary. He once was asked: "How does one become a movie star?" His response: "show up on the set on time; know your lines; hit your mark; put your hat back on and go home." Hollywood was a factory in its heyday and the players indentured workers at the mercy of the studios. But what a calling; what a job; what wonderful products it turned out for all to enjoy. This film is a beautiful remembrance of some of the highlights.
February 25, 2015
If you enjoy films or cinematic history.....or BOTH....as I do, you will truly enjoy this film. Watch Hattie McDaniels accept the award for Best Supporting Actress for her role in Gone With The Wind. Learn how sound technicians found Chewbacca's voice. Simply wonderful.
February 23, 2015
A historical documentary of the academy of Hollywood. Must see.
½ February 19, 2015
Amusing documentary from TCM reliving highlights from the history of the Academy Award ceremony; from its humbler beginnings in 1927 through to today.
Featuring talking head interviews from previous nominees, hosts and winners; it acts as an amusing pre-cursor to this year's upcoming ceremony.
February 16, 2015
I was really looking forward to watching this because of my love for the Academy Awards, however, TCM's documentation of the award show's history didn't really stand out in any particular way. I would have liked to see more rare behind the scenes footage and stories rather than straight up facts about who had won in the past. And I definitely would have liked to see less of Cher.
½ February 16, 2015
There's a lot of Oscar history, so it's hard to get it all, but I liked this. Great little tidbits from big names. It didn't just stick to Best Picture/Actor/Actress, which was nice. With the current Oscars being so elegant and produced and subject to the "machine", I wonder who will be the next to dress like Cher, or speak out like Michael Moore or stay pointedly silent like Jane Fonda. A little controversy would be fun.
February 12, 2015
Yeah I still like this kind of stuff, come at me!
February 12, 2015
This is a special documentary feature of the film category, a celebration of the Academy Awards that follows the usual structure of their annual ceremonies while retaining the usual spirited enjoyment when taking us back to the past shows and some insightful views of the Oscars at an acceptable amount of coverage, even though it could've gone a little deeper. (A-)

(Full review coming soon)
February 10, 2015
History of the Academy Awards. Really, really interesting :)
April 9, 2014
A documentary about the history of the Oscars, but nothing beyond the ordinary. The people interviewed seem random and the whole thing seems kind of thrown together, although I did enjoy a lot of the old footage. (First and only viewing - February 2014)
Page 1 of 1