The Big O - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Big O Reviews

Page 1 of 3
½ January 25, 2014
Having grand-scaled mecha battles rivaling Pacific Rim, underlying themes and an aesthetic-charged narrative mirroring Bioshock, plus awesome hand-drawn animation = One of the most stand-out and artsy action anime.
½ March 15, 2011
I so wanted there to be a second season
November 8, 2010
great mashup of noir and mech. Very creative people behind this
July 5, 2010
Wow. The way that it ends, just, wow. I saw when I was younger and did not really understand it then, but I do now. And WOW!
April 28, 2010
Yet another mindfuck anime.. so you know the movie has got to be good!
½ October 5, 2009
What else can I say? Bruce Wayne with mechs! :3
Super Reviewer
September 6, 2009
I never was a fan of mecha anime
July 7, 2009
A complex and excellent series. Definately one of my favorite animes.
August 29, 2008
can't give more stars - they stole the Queen music from Flash Gordon!
½ June 24, 2008
decent series. ending was a letdown.
½ May 2, 2008
I like the steampunkish visuals and music
March 21, 2008
I did not really like this movie.
½ February 24, 2008
This is kinda good once you get into it.
½ February 16, 2008
Excelllent series about Negotiator Roger Smith and his Megaduece Robot Called The Big O. Smith has a lot of Bruce Wayne and Batman that shows in the characters design and manerisms.
½ January 31, 2008
Seen the first four episodes, it's interesting to say the least.
January 14, 2008
This interesting show is the strange but great mixture of film noir, "Batman: the Animated Series," and giant robots. How is that not awesome?
December 25, 2007
"Big O! It's Showtime!"
Roger Smith is the Negotiator, a chivalric/puer aeternus sort.

R. Dorothy Wainright is an impeccable android, uncertain of her heritage or her future, but has incredible strength on tap, and a tough kind of love for Roger.

Norman Berg is Roger's loyal, competent, and, when necessary, ferocious butler.

Col. Dan Dastun is head of the military police, sworn to uphold the law, to protect those who can't protect themselves, and not let the MPs degenerate into Gestapo style tactics.

Angel is an enigma, playing both sides against the middle-or is it the middle against all sides?

And then there's the Megadeus: The Big O, a Titan in search of a Soul.

These players are all that stands between the amnesiac Paradigm City and the nefarious and corrosive forces of Corporate Fascism, Ultra-literate Hyperaggressive Schwarzwaldian style Mega-regressive Kazsycinskiism, and Post-Evangelion Modernity.

They may not be enough.
They may be too much.

"Pull back camera!"
December 2, 2007
I've seen a few random episodes and the show defiantly looks interesting
October 29, 2007
One of the most original super robot series I have ever seen.
½ October 18, 2007
this is the worst anime EVER!
Page 1 of 3