The Madmen of Mandoras (Amazing Mr. H ) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Madmen of Mandoras (Amazing Mr. H ) Reviews

Page 1 of 1
October 29, 2013
Pretty boring but I think it is stupid funny seeing Hitler's head in a jar commanding Nazi stooges.
½ November 24, 2012
Often incorrectly identified as the same film as "They Saved Hitler's Brain" (which is this film with extra footage added), this film is often tarred with the "so bad it's good" label, which really isn't justified. It's not a great film, but it's a passable low budget thriller that's fitfully entertaining.
March 31, 2012
The original version of They Saved Hitler's Brain, entitled The Madmen of Mandoras, isn't much better than its re-edited counterpart. The added scenes certainly didn't help the re-edit of the film... it was just bad to begin with. There are no recognizable actors (to me anyways) and the story is pretty humdrum. However bad it may be, it does have some unintentional comedic value. The scene where one of the rebels tells of Hitler's experiments is particularly bad. Watching an actor waiting for his next cue to deliver dialogue is a hoot to see. This actually came in a set with the re-edit, and since I haven't watched They Saved Hitler's Brain in a while, I may watch it again soon for a proper comparison between the two versions. Overall, it's not at all good, but it does have some funny things about it that makes it worth at least one watch.
FilmFanatik
Super Reviewer
December 27, 2011
The original version of They Saved Hitler's Brain, entitled The Madmen of Mandoras, isn't much better than its re-edited counterpart. The added scenes certainly didn't help the re-edit of the film... it was just bad to begin with. There are no recognizable actors (to me anyways) and the story is pretty humdrum. However bad it may be, it does have some unintentional comedic value. The scene where one of the rebels tells of Hitler's experiments is particularly bad. Watching an actor waiting for his next cue to deliver dialogue is a hoot to see. This actually came in a set with the re-edit, and since I haven't watched They Saved Hitler's Brain in a while, I may watch it again soon for a proper comparison between the two versions. Overall, it's not at all good, but it does have some funny things about it that makes it worth at least one watch.
½ October 14, 2011
You'd think a film where Nazis have managed to make Hitler immortal by removing his head and using some crazy technology to keep him alive would make for some good campy fun but Madmen of Mandoras is far from fun.
Much of the film is pure dialogue and more thriller than action. I would have liked to have had more from Hitler as he only really talks once and otherwise just stares like a mentally challenged head with no body.... oh I get it :P
Of course, his death scene is pretty cool and reminded me of the ending to Raiders of the Lost Ark.
A little action, a little scifi and a lot thriller, Madmen of Mandoras is a little too boring to pull off any of the three genres well.
Super Reviewer
October 16, 2010
This was really weird. I couldn't get into it and I wouldn't watch it again.
½ September 26, 2010
An alright movie but it sure as hell didn't belong in the horror collection I watched it from.
May 26, 2010
Just go to, They Saved Hitler's Brain!
Super Reviewer
March 31, 2010
The only good thing about this movie was Hitlers head in a jar.......Wow
½ November 9, 2009
Read an article recently and found out that Bill Freed who plays Hitler in this forgotten film just died so had to see this film again. And its about what I remembered, not really a good story, or good effects, but for some reason I like it. Bill Freed really hams it up in the pre Hitler head parts and once he is just a head (ala The Brain that Wouldnt Die) his facial expressions are priceless.

Other then that this film does not have a lot going for it, the plot is pointless at best seems that Hitler lived by having his head removed and escaping to a small tropical island. His followers then work on getting a gas ready that will kill almost the entire world but when they found out that an American has a antidote then they kidnap him to get it from him and to I presume keep it from everybody else... and after that it gets even sillier. So sit back and dont try to make sense of it and appreciate the only role of Bill Freed RIP.
bbcfloridabound
Super Reviewer
½ January 17, 2009
Madmen of Mandoras is not the movie They Saved Hitler?s Brain, the poster is incorrect in this Movie Review. Anyway this is a pretty wild movie, Hitler?s head is in a jar and people take orders from it. Its a good old Black & White film, best part is near the end when the Brain is in a car, reminded me of a Laurel and Hardy type movie. You can see the feelings left over from WWII in this movie, don't see this today with movies about Sadam Hussian or any of the current threats to the world. My Copy Came in the Drive-In Cult Classics Vol 2. 8 movies in total at a good price, best way to see these type movies.
Page 1 of 1