The Prophet's Game - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Prophet's Game Reviews

Page 1 of 1
May 13, 2014
Dennis Hopper carried the film!!!
November 18, 2013
Monday, November 18, 2013

(1999) The Prophet's Game
THRILLER/ HORROR/ SUPENSE MYSTERY

At the first few minutes has father-in-law forbidding a young boy and his little sister from playing an offensive board game called "the Prophet's Game", and rips up a bunch of celebrity pictures. It is then the present time, and homicide detective Vincent Swan(Dennis Hopper) is forced for an early retirement for it has something to with the Prophet's Game serial killings in which he purposely killed the person thought to have killed his daughter. Calls then come back to haunt him telling him that he's going to go on a killing spree with clues and if he fails this person is going to dismember some well known people. The boss Walter (played by Joe Penny who was the star of a show called "Riptide") of this new homicide group thinks that Swan is still somewhat connected while he has only one cop who doesn't think he's nuts who is Homicide Francis Aldobrandi played by Stephanie Zimbalist who once made a name for herself by playing detective in the syndicated show "Remington Steele". Meanwhile, the Prophet's Game is being played on-line for viewers are oblivious how that came about for it's just is and stalking a particular student of a university. Both the student and Swan are eventually going to team up to catch the killer.
After the revelation toward the end, the movie still didn't make any sense since police man are supposed to help each other rather than fight against one another. Also, viewers are still oblivious how a single person are able to get away for such a long time, for we are still oblivious about the killer's motivations for doing the killings in the first place.

2 out of 4 stars
December 30, 2012
With some better editing and higher production quality, this would have been a much better film. The overall idea is really interesting, and it's definitely good enough to hold your attention. But there is just something lacking visually, and it hurts the movie as a whole. For the most part, though, I enjoyed this.
½ October 30, 2011
A rather terrible Dennis Hopper film that has all the flair of a late '80s 'B' movie.... and this was shot in '99.
½ March 6, 2011
Bit stupid at moments, but fine enough to be thrilling, don't get to much criticism anyhow.
½ December 24, 2009
Movie is good. Stephanie Zimbalist's acting is good.
May 21, 2009
Great late night B rated Cinemax, O I mean skinamax late night feature. Filmed close to me so im bias as well.
½ April 23, 2008
This movie is terrible. I would advise against getting sucked into watching it. Dennis Hopper's acting is humorous at best. The plot doesn't really mesh well. There are many parts in the movie where it's confusing as far as the storyline goes. Most of the shots just do not make sense. Look for Patrick Swayze's younger brother Don at the beginning of the movie. He sure looks like Patrick Swayze....
January 18, 2008
The only reason I watched the entire movie was because I saw that Sondra was in it. It wasn't really worth the time, but Sondra's creepy and Dennis Hopper does his thing, so whatevs.
½ January 7, 2008
I love these low budget Hopper films.
September 5, 2007
I bought this for $1. It was worth it, but just barely.
July 28, 2007
good film one of hooper's best performances ever!!!!
½ March 26, 2007
Aha! I found it! This movie was REALLY good - very creepy, suspenseful, and just wacko!
Page 1 of 1