The Squeeze (The Rip-Off) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Squeeze (The Rip-Off) Reviews

Page 1 of 1
April 19, 2013
This was alot better than it had any right to be by 70's heist movie standards. One of Lee Van Cleefs final runs as an action/crime leading man during the late 70's.
bbcfloridabound
Super Reviewer
½ January 8, 2011
This movie is from the BCI 10 Movie Set Men of Action, like al lot of BCI collections the Video Quality is lacking, but other then that we have a pretty good crime drama from 1978 that was filmed in the NY Area, and its good to see a film where the world trade center is still being shown and hasn't been cut out. The movie is about a retired safe cracker who has been in hiding and comes back to NY for one more job, Cracking a safe with diamonds, 2 other groups are working against him. Lee Van Cleef has left his spaghetti western roles to play Chris the safe cracker and while hold up in an apartment hiding from the law, Karen Black comes to his rescue, Karen was very attractive in this role as the seventies hippy chick. After 98 Minutes the ending has a real twist that I never expected. 3 1/2 stars
July 12, 2009
Among some of the worst editing I've ever seen in a feature film, although this makes it unintentionally entertaining and funny to watch. Lee Van Cleef must have needed the money BAD to star in this one.
½ March 16, 2009
Ugly and bad, no good.
½ August 5, 2007
One of those unknown British gangster films with a great soundtrack and very tensely directed.
July 28, 2007
The cast and idea sound good, but the execution is deeply flawed. Great ’70s instrumental music (poorly matched to the action) but little else to commend this. Not entirely sure why the other reviewer thought it was British; it is set in New York. I am sure that Flixster is wrong when it said that Michael Apted directed. This looks like a contemporary version of a spaghetti western: cheaply made with Italian producers and director, with a fading Lee van Cleef. Made in the 1970s and not released, according to IMDB, till 1982—and given the low production values, not a surprise.
½ July 7, 2007
It's a 70's british gangster flick, so I love it...even though it's not great. Pretty standard stuff.
June 9, 2007
Really Good......I'm surprided it isn't that well known
December 11, 2006
i would like to see this
Page 1 of 1