The Ten Commandments - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Ten Commandments Reviews

Page 1 of 2
April 2, 2018
This 2006 remake is an angst-ridden retelling laden with 21st century doubts and worries, emphasizing the bickering of Numbers, with little of the joy of Exodus or confidence or spectacle of the mid-20th century films. Its screenplay is slow and labored, and includes unnecessarily rebellious sons of Moses, a gratuitous adultery-murder-stoning subplot, a rebellious Miriam behind the Golden Calf, graphic brutality thereafter, faux drama in rock-climbing, and even the old joke about waiting for God's deliverance from a storm. TV Guide's Matt Roush was right that the film "violates the primary commandment of epic filmmaking . . . 'Thou shalt not bore.'" Pass this one up and watch Prince of Egypt instead.
July 11, 2017
This is probably the most unfaithful version of Exodus I have ever seen. And it wouldn't be so bad if the actors were good and there not. I hate to say but I think Moses and Ramses are the worst actors in this movie. The guy playing Moses looks and sounds very uninterested. And Ramses spontaneously goes from whispering to shouting his butt off. If you wanna see the story of Exodus tolled well, go to the 1953 version of Ten Commandments or Prince Of Egypt.
½ September 22, 2014
Long, contemplative version of the events around Moses leading his people and getting the tablets containing the ten commandments.
It's thoughtful, but talky - with dialogue infused w contemporary questions and observations. A great idea, considering the need for explaining certain aspects of character motivations. The downside is that it tends to fly in the face of simply having faith in an unseen God and acting on that conviction.
Part 1 has all the drama and action,
Part 2 has all the drama and talking.
It devolves into a bloated set of arguments that are brevity-free - not worthy of a movie.

Part 1= 3/5
Part 2= 2/5
Total score= 2.5 of 5
February 16, 2014
I guess I just really like the version that I grew up with. Heston just did a great portrayal. Dougray does a decent job and it does have a different feel in this version. It is good to see the difference. However, I must say that Paul Rhys does an excellent job as the stubborn Pharaoh.
December 29, 2013
A boring and blandly scripted update of the classic that tries to be part narrative and part documentary.
½ September 23, 2012
Even though this film was far from being true to the bible, but I still liked it very much. Moses was a joke in this film (in a good way), because he was very funny in some scenes.

This film, for me, is a adventure/drama/comedy. That's why I liked it. It had touching music and breathtaking landscapes.
May 14, 2012
I love the 1956 version and have a more grateful appreciation for the Ten Commandments
½ March 9, 2012
Won't review ...in order not to make any religious conflicts
½ March 9, 2012
Won't review ...in order not to make any religious conflicts
October 22, 2010
not as good as the classic
½ September 12, 2010
Good, well made retelling of the ancient story that we all know... Dougray Scott played a strangely harsh/angry Moses though... an enjoyable 3 hours though never the less...
March 1, 2010
Much better in terms of following the text. Better, but still not right. Good movie though.
September 18, 2009
It pales somewhat to the '56 classic and I haven't seen the '23 version yet, but still, this one still amazed despite less of the FX that the 56 version had. A well told story nonetheless.
July 21, 2009
I watched this just because I have the hots for LInus Roache. He's very clearly a supporting character. If you have the hots for Dougray Scott, you'll be far happier. I found it a weak and un-sensational version. Go back to 1956 and see Chuck Heston and Yul Brynner get it right. Sorry, Linus - there wasn't enough of you to keep me diverted.
½ July 14, 2009
Won't review ...in order not to make any religious conflicts
½ May 24, 2009
scenes jump often and abruptly. camera angles are kind of weird, and cheap. But i do like how they show a new part, and new scenarios not mentioned in the first Ten Commandments
January 17, 2009
Disappointing. While Not Bad For A TV Movie It Suffers Mightily.
January 3, 2009
Long story but love any version of it
December 4, 2008
Sorry but DeMille's (either one) is THE definative version. Can you really imagine anyone other than Chuck ("From my cold, dead hands") as Moses?
October 30, 2008
the most accurate of the previous versions
Page 1 of 2