The Yellow Rolls-Royce - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Yellow Rolls-Royce Reviews

Page 1 of 2
June 1, 2018
One of my all-time favorite movies. Besides seeing it in my youth, I've watched it on my DVD many times.
½ August 16, 2014
Three stories about three love affairs in three countries (England, Italy and Yugoslavia) in this infamous "Royce Rolls". All the stories have promise, but only the first was good. I had to see it because of the cast. I wanted the last to be good, but Bergman was poorly directed and the story was silly at times.
July 27, 2014
marvelous ensemble
i love every segment of it :)
May 13, 2014
I really liked this film back in the day!
May 13, 2014
Excellent British Episode Movie with a All-Star Cast!!! I like at most the Second Story with George Scott and Alain Delon!!!
May 13, 2014
Following THE V.I.P.'S, their film about stars stranded at the airport, director Anthony Asquith and writer Terence Rattigan, turned to this stars-on-the-road vehicle.
May 13, 2014
I saw this film when it was released. From a teenager's perspective, it seemed wonderful: three stories bound together by an amazing automobile. Forty years later, I am watching it as a grandmother who has been through as much as the titular Rolls. What my younger self saw as fresh literary invention, my present self sees as a rather trite series of tales that need rewriting, tightening and to come out of the 1950s. Despite the reputation of the "international cast (international cast generally means recognizable names put together for attention and profit)," shows little acting ability. Jeanne Moreau and Alain Delon were wooden. George C. Scott never bothered to read the script. Shirley MacLaine did the gangster's moll schtick while looking more like Marilyn Monroe than herself. Ingrid Bergman tried desperately to be someone else. Omar Sharif, in corny costumes, was the cornily romantic resistance fighter. The only genuine performance was turned in by Rex Harrison. And, no, I was not taken in by his height, fitness and polished good looks. Harrison managed to convey a naive man deeply in love with his wife, totally blind to his stiff wife's indifference. His desire to keep a stiff upper lip and to protect himself and his wounded heart from the curious eyes of his guests who will know his wife is unfaithful felt genuine.
May 13, 2014
Vanity fair with an epic ending.
Interesting idea and smart constructed storyline: yellow rolls royce appears from vanity but ends up changing the lives for all the people from these three stories told in the movie. First it's maybe a bit slow and a bit boring but soon the story gains the speed. Shirley and Ingrid were splendid.
And they really make that episode of Remington Steele on this movie.
½ May 13, 2014
3 diff owners-all high class.diff settings and stories make the movie.end up having sex in the car-it seems to be the reason why they see another love, show various perks of it often in a humourous way,last story is most exciting-it helps the freedomfighter during the war, classic!
May 13, 2014
The yellow rolls plays and important part in he lives and loves of its owners
½ May 13, 2014
Three short stories about the Yellow Rolls-Royce and the different owners it has had. Each story was good, the first starring Rex Harrison as a rich Lord who buys the car for his wife young wife Jeanne Moreau, the second starring George C Scott as a gangster who takes his fiance Shirley MacLaine to Italy where she is always bored, and the thrid starring Ingrid Bergman as a woman who accidentally becomes a Yugoslavian resistance fighter with Omar Shariff. They all had good qualities about them, I think I liked the third the best because Bergman was such a great character (I particularly liked the part where she insisted on having dinner while the hotel was literally falling down around her. I wasn't expecting all the stories to have a bit of a downer of an ending, or rather, starcrossed lovers type thing. Regardless, it was entertaining, the stories went by pretty quickly.
March 24, 2012
Chugs along slowly until Ingrid Bergman livens things up, exuding a feisty elegance as well as humour in the stand-out performance.
March 7, 2011
Vanity fair with an epic ending.
Interesting idea and smart constructed storyline: yellow rolls royce appears from vanity but ends up changing the lives for all the people from these three stories told in the movie. First it's maybe a bit slow and a bit boring but soon the story gains the speed. Shirley and Ingrid were splendid.
And they really make that episode of Remington Steele on this movie.
May 18, 2010
Lemons are yellow, too. Three thin stories somewhat salvaged by earnest performances.
April 6, 2010
The segment with Alain Delon is my favorite cause it's the most cartoonish and silly and realistic in that a man meets a woman falls in love without understanding it and the woman knows this and leaves him anyway for someone far inferior. Plus, there's a certain humor in hearing Alain Delon say, "I'm what's that word amoral?"
½ March 31, 2010
entertaining movie. featuring quite a few well known actors, they make this story come to life. My favorites were George C. Scott as a gangster, a young Shirley Maclaine as his girlfriend, a young Omar Sharif, and a middle-aged, but very sexy Ingrid Bergman. I thought it was very amusing that the main connection between the car's different owners is everybody used the car to get laid.
½ March 22, 2010
a lot heavier than i thought it would be.
October 14, 2009
Isn't this the same prop car as the old school GNOME MOBILE movie? Over produced British studio crap of the late 1960s that did not reflect the sentiment of the time or period.
½ July 21, 2009
Great cast, and generally entertaining but not particularly memorable unfortunately. The mobster story was the best one... or maybe just Alain Delon's face.
jjnxn
Super Reviewer
½ June 21, 2009
Bittersweet series of episodes with a cast only a top studio could pull together at its peak. All are good but Ingrid Bergman gives the most nuance to her character.
Beautiful looking film with gorgeous locations.
Page 1 of 2