The Zookeeper - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Zookeeper Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ March 1, 2014
Um homem dedica sua vida aos animais em vez de lidar com as incertezas políticas e emocionais. Ludovic (Sam Neill) vive e trabalha em uma cidade não identificada nos Balcãs, dedica suas energias a seu trabalho como zelador. Após bombardeios repetidos que ameaçam perigosamente o santuário animal, Ludovic se recusa a sair, e com a ajuda de um veterinário (Om Puri), ele atende às necessidades dos animais. Ludovic, porém, descobre que não há como escapar do caos ao seu redor, e como as tropas comandadas por Dragov (Ulrich Thomsen) vão ao jardim zoológico e levam o veterinário afastado em nome da "limpeza étnica", ele dá refúgio a Ankica (Gina McKee) e Zioig (Javor Loznica), uma mãe e seu filho que escaparam da execução em uma aldeia próxima.
January 12, 2013
I've never heard of a story of a zoo in the middle of a war torn area. This is an interesting story about a Zookeeper who stays at the zoo to feed the animals while the bombing and shooting goes on around him. Yes, people die & animals die but the UN saves the day to rescue the remaining animals.
October 28, 2012
Thought this was The Zookeepers Wife which was a WWII Polish Movie but this one is a Balkans war movie about dedication, war, family, love and sacrifice. A good movie, not a must see but with it's moments heart wrenching more than happy.
June 22, 2012
This great concept is poorly executed. Lacking character development & authenticity & empathy namely as result of Sam Neill's poor acting. Also the fact that everyone speaks English with bad European accents breaks any illusion. The story feels distant & slow, it seems grandiose in ambition ultimately falling short. The opening sequence is poorly shot with an annoying reverberating shot technique.
February 17, 2012
My wife said this was the most horrible movie she'd ever seen...not in quality, but in how difficult and painful it was to watch the horrors contained within. I don't necessarily agree with that completely, but it was definitely a downer. It seemed to me that the whole goal of the movie was to depress the audience. If that's true, mission accomplished. I think the point of the movie is that war is horrible. I already knew that, but it was still pretty decent. And horrible. The one thing that disappointed me was that the leader of the group of thugs that kept visiting the zoo never ate a bullet. Sigh.
January 16, 2012
Beautifully told picture of the horrors of war through the eyes of a zookeeper who holds onto what he knows in the worst of circumstances
July 10, 2011
Esta película no tiene nada que ver con la otra de Kevin James.
En un país de los Balcanes no especificado, se desata una de esas estúpidas guerras que les encanta hacer.
El cuidador del zoológico decide quedarse con los animales en medio de esta cruel guerra.
Lacrimógena y dura, es un grito de protesta contra los más frágiles en las disputas del hombre. Los animales.
½ May 25, 2011
Aside from a scene whose tragic end is telegraphed for several tortuous minutes, "The Zookeeper" is well directed, poignant and, in the end, even hopeful. Also one of the better-kept secrets of Sam Neill's career.
March 21, 2011
No wonder this hasn't been seen! Its quite a sad film but the story is weak with a blunt ending.

It goes under that "Pointless" list! May 1, 2010
July 3, 2010
1/5/10
No wonder this hasn't been seen! Its quite a sad film but the story is weak with a blunt ending.
kylemydude
Super Reviewer
May 30, 2010
Really want to see, it's not on dvd in the states, anyone know where I can get a copy?
May 1, 2010
No wonder this hasn't been seen! Its quite a sad film but the story is weak with a blunt ending.

It goes under that "Pointless" list!
FiLmCrAzY
Super Reviewer
April 22, 2010
i was quite enjoying it, right up tilll the end and then it just lost me and now i have no idea wat the whole point of the movie was!!
i like the story of sam neill staying at the zoo to look after all the animals wilst the rest of the country are fighting and then he comes across a chid and his mother!!
it tells you a little about Sams past but dosnt bother to go anyfurther into it!!
i dnt get it!!
February 11, 2010
A fantastic film about the Bosnian war. Sam Neil plays a zookeeper who stays in Belgrade to protect animals in the zoo during the war. The zookeeper then protects some refugees who come his way - brilliant.
Page 1 of 1