The Astro-Zombies - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Astro-Zombies Reviews

Page 1 of 3
December 17, 2016
A scientist wants to make super humans from corpses, which he calls "Astro men". They are basically normal men but with alien/skull masks. Varla from Faster Pussycat (Tura Satana) heads a criminal organization interested in taking control of the Astro men to do her bidding.
Very cheesy but fun. Too many shots of blood transfusions. The rifftrax version was great.
Very cheesy but fun. Rifftrax version was good.
November 23, 2016
A slog of a movie to sit through.
October 16, 2016
Funny if you watch it with Riff Trax.... If not it's a pretty OK B movie. If you like B movies it's worth watching.
July 28, 2012
I prefer other Mikels films much more, but this is still fun!
Super Reviewer
July 28, 2012
I bet the editors of this movie never worked again, they did a horrible job, and so did the director and writer. What in the world is an "astro zombie" anyway? We're never even told are we? This movie makes no sense, I hated it.
½ July 28, 2012
Horrible, horrible movie. I watch a lot of B movies for the fun of it, this wasn't even enjoyable.
½ July 28, 2012
Cheap & nonsensical; this could possibly be one of the most boring films of all time.
July 28, 2012
Even the costumes were cheap. Dialog stunk. Plenty of scenes of gratuitous filler. It's a shame Carradine was limited by his script.
July 28, 2012
What on Earth would make me wanna see a flick like this? The Misfits and John Carradine!
July 28, 2012
A truly crazy film that blends B-movie 50s & 60s sci-fi together with zombie films and spy movies. Mad scientists, spies, and zombies created to work in outer space are just a few of the wild surprises in wait in this Ted V. Mikels cult classic. Plus, The Misfits have a song about this film. A fun film for fans of 50s and 60s sci-fi and horror.
July 28, 2012
Fun, bottom-dollar, unique enough prime-era B-horror. At its best, the bizarro fantasies explored within are enough to make you a little uneasy about details that remind you, even abstractly, about the present day.
July 28, 2012
one of those "it's-so-bad-it's-good" B-movies. 60s sci-fi/ horror that's good for some ironic laughs. great if you're in the mood for that kind of thing.
July 28, 2012
Everything I have watched recently stars a member of the Carradine family. Keith Carradine's daughter is Martha Plimpton who looks like me. Holy shit, my mind is officially blown.
½ July 28, 2012
Super tight and super hilarious. Check! Tura Satana does an outstanding job.
½ January 4, 2012
I need more money

A group of scientists are working on an experiment that genetically changes humans into strange super humans (that resemble aliens). Around the same time as these events a group of gangsters are running numerous operations trying to make some dough. In some strange and contorted way the scientists and gangster's paths cross and the gangsters think their meeting can be mutually beneficial.

"What do you want?"
"Your knowledge."
"My knowledge would be worthless to you."
"That's for us to decide."

Ted Mikels, director of Girls in Gold Boots, The Doll Squad, Mission: Killfast, The Corpse Grinder 1 & 2, and Ten Violent Women, delivers Astro-Zombie. The storyline for this picture is fairly awful and a bit convoluted until the very end. The premise is a bit ridiculous and a stretch even for the genre. The action is fairly mediocre and as you may suspect. The acting is below average and the cast includes Tura Satana, John Carradine, and Tom Pace.

"We're friends."
"Friends enough to kill."

We came across this movie and decided to give it a shot since it had a cool movie poster and also starred Tura Satana (from Faster Pussycat fame). This film has nothing going for it. The monster is awful and an obvious man in a mask wearing gloves. The plot was frustrating at times and caused me to lose interest in the picture throughout the viewing. The end is also a bit ridiculous. I recommend skipping this picture.

"As always, you're a fool."

Grade: D-
½ March 2, 2011
Sometimes movies are good and sometimes they‚(TM)re bad. Then there‚(TM)s ones that are so bad they‚(TM)re good. Occasionally, the bad and good cancel each other out so many times you can‚(TM)t figure out how you feel about it. This is one of those movies
February 27, 2011
I'm not saying I have a medical degree or anything, but SOLAR-POWERED HEARTS??? I can see a few problems with this.

Note to all aspiring filmmakers: hire an editor! You don't have to use every single second of footage you record in your actual movie. It's bad enough watching a man collect "blood" in a plastic container, but we don't need to watch John Carradine watching him!
½ February 10, 2011
See the first and last three minutes and you'll have seen all that's worth seeing.
November 12, 2010
I think you know why I am giving this 5 stars. Grab some popcorn & try not to choke on it.
Page 1 of 3