The Blazing World - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Blazing World Reviews

Page 1 of 3
October 21, 2021
It's a slight problem that everything is so relentlessly full-on. But the outrageous flourishes effectively generate some darkly powerful emotions.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 13, 2021
Carlson Young has settled for style over substance, which is semi-allowable when the work is this entrancing
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 13, 2021
Creepy twin stuff, Udo Kier, alternate realities-yes, The Blazing World. I am in.
Full Review | Original Score: 3
July 26, 2021
(Carlson) Young is a talented storyteller, with a limitless vision that should hopefully fall more into focus as her career behind the camera evolves.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 2, 2021
gorgeous phantasmagoria
April 16, 2021
The Blazing World displays an almost maddening level of talent and creativity. Here's hoping it's the start of something great.
March 25, 2021
The sharp colors palette of the evil dimension feels very reminiscent of the giallo films it seeks to pay homage to and Young's direction is incredibly stylish.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
February 25, 2021
I enjoyed how Young challenged me as a viewer with her feature film debut, and I look forward to seeing whatever she does next as a filmmaker.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
February 22, 2021
Carlson Young's visual identity is stunning and she shows immense promise. But the thin narrative in THE BLAZING WORLD will irk some viewers.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
February 7, 2021
I am most impressed by the fact that such a young director was able to make this opus her debut. I'm sure you will be, too, especially if you're a lover of fantasy, horror, or both.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
February 5, 2021
Artistic sensibilities and imaginative drive elevate the entire film... [Full review in Spanish]
February 5, 2021
The colorful and surprisingly elegant nature of The Blazing World provoked me in a way that other films of this ilk haven't.
February 4, 2021
Some scenes hit better than others, but what Young does with some fog machines and intense lighting makes me salivate for a film in which she gets to play with a real budget. It shouldn't be long now.
February 3, 2021
While not an entirely new take beyond The Looking Glass, The Blazing World is a wildly creative, feature debut that's a visual feast for dark fantasy fans.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
February 3, 2021
Young creates some arresting images of the warped unreality Margaret traverses. She also makes the most out of limited resources.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 3, 2021
While it's not completely successful...there's enough visual prowess and craft on display that I want to see where Carlson goes from here.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 3, 2021
a visual masterpiece and even if you are not sure what's going on in the plot you'll be dazzled by the intense and colorful imagery.
February 3, 2021
A dreamscape of the macabre that is ambitious in its abstract conveyance of nightmarish ideas.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5 / 5
February 2, 2021
To awe with outrageousness is impressive, to also get us to empathize is cinema divine.
February 2, 2021
Young creates a captivating epic world just this side of surreal.
Page 1 of 3