The Dust Storm - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Dust Storm Reviews

Page 1 of 1
April 1, 2017
This was absolutely worth the wait. Fascinating, extremely genuine and honest, heart-warming in as many ways as it was heart-breaking. Lovely without a doubt and so real. One of those movies that really touches something inside you.
O'Donoghue and Gutoskie's performances make the movie what it is - breath-taking and truly touching. Colin O'Donoghue portrays both joy and despair like no other. His voice is an absolute gift all on its own. His numerous talents shine beautifully and mesmerize and astonish. Hoping to see lots and lots more from him in the future.
December 26, 2016
A little frustrating at times, but it was worth the look. A lot unexplained.
December 15, 2016
Finally got to see Duststorn and I was not disappointed. It is an excellent movie that is sometimes funny and then turns around and breaks your heart. Both actors Colin O'Donoghue and Kristin Gutoskie are so believable and good in this movie they have awesome chemistry and I love the rest of the cast too. Colin and Kristin not only are awsome actors they also have great singing voices would love to hear more especially Colin. O would highly recommend seeing this movie and have already ordered my copy. I was a big fan of Colin O'Donoghue now even more so.
December 15, 2016
I was so excited to see this movie and it didn't disappoint. Former lovers meet again and walk through the ups and downs of their past while coping with feelings rekindled. Colin O'Donoghue's ability to express such depth and range of emotion as Brennan is so powerfully real and Kristen Gutoskie is incredible as Nora who is seemingly at a crossroads in her life. The best of storytelling and so very relatable. Original songs performed by Colin and Kristen make the soundtrack a must hear "Over and Over". Angsty and beautiful, this movie honestly wrecked me in the best way. Highly recommend it.
December 15, 2016
The Dust Storm is such a wonderful example of the impact storytelling can have. It connects deeply and fully because every single choice is intentional. The casting was make or break and Colin O'Donoghue and Kristen Gutoskie making it with such raw intensity will break you just a little... The chemistry is palpable, the writing so real, so tangible and the performances so thoughtful and so vulnerably connected to each other that they force you to feel every second of humanness- of the actors, the characters and your own. The editing was powerful in being both cautious and brave all at the same time. Those voiceovers and emotionally expressive moments, gutwrenchingly beautiful in how effortlessly real they feel to the audience (which shows how much both leads acted their asses off). The choices made in direction, writing, acting, music and every other element instilled by every single person involved in its making created perfection out of the reality of imperfection. This was such a beautiful, broken experience- well done to all for creating this story with gorgeous openness and spirit- especially Colin and Kristen for giving so much of themselves to instill this tangible connection between the audience's stories and Brennan and Nora's.
December 15, 2016
Such a wonderful, emotionally intense film. The acting from Colin and Kristen is top notch and it's really easily to relate to both of their characters struggles and how they cope with getting through life. And the music in this movie is top notch. The songs sung by Colin and Kristen are next level amazing and the music that fills out the rest of the film really sets the tone. This is a movie that stays with you long after watching and I'll definitely be recommending it to all that I can.
December 15, 2016
Loved it! Had to buy on iTunes to watch and it was worth every penny.
November 29, 2016
I was fortunate enough to attend the World Premiere of The Dust Storm back in October of 2015 at the Twin Cities Film Festival in Minneapolis, and I've been looking forward to seeing it again ever since. As a fan of Colin O'Donoghue, I walked into the theater because of him, but walked out a fan of the film and the entire cast and crew as well. The performances by everyone in The Dust Storm are charming, hilarious, and absolutely brilliant, especially Kristen Gutoskie, who brings a depth to her character that rounds out the entire film. Additionally, the attention to detail and score, combined of local musicians and original music, brings Nashville to life in a very real way, making The Dust Storm a must see for anyone who loves music, film, or has experienced the loss of the one person you really love.
November 27, 2016
I saw this film at the Nashville Film Festival and I LOVED it. Colin O'Donoghue and Kristen Gutoskie both shine as old flames who happen across each other years later and spend the weekend together while rehashing old memories, both good and bad.

The best part was that it wasn't some glossed-over, bright and shiny love story. It was raw and honest, funny at times, and heartbreaking at others. As their prior affair gets revealed in flashbacks, it becomes clear that theirs was not the most healthy of relationships - but, as is true to life, sometimes the heart wants what it wants, whether or not it's the best thing for us. And now here they are again, years later, both older and wiser, and rediscovering those things about each other that they love.

I honestly can't say enough about this film. It touches the heartstrings and epitomizes the way love can inspire you in one moment and lay you flat in the next. The writing is incredible and the performances are exquisite. The movie is backdropped by the Nashville music scene, a place that inspires dreams to be fulfilled and chances to be taken, which is the perfect venue for these two lovers considering their history. Also, there's some original music in the film and I was pleasantly surprised at the musical talent both O'Donoghue and Gutoskie possess.

I plan on purchasing it the moment it becomes available and I highly recommend everyone to do the same!
½ November 23, 2016
I saw this movie at the Nashville Film Festival back in April and absolutely loved the premise of it - who hasn't had a relationship end where you both still cared for each other but for whatever reason, you just couldn't make it work? It captured that essence perfectly and really dived into how you can love someone but they be completely wrong for you and how some people deal with that loss. It was always surprisingly funny in some places which I loved! The music chosen also told the story just as well as the script did. I had been divorced a little over a year when I saw this movie and it brought an emotional reaction from me when I watched it at the festival - I could instantly imagine myself in Brennan's shoes as the person who didn't want the relationship to end but I could also see myself in Nora and I left the theatre actively wondering which character I would be if I ever ran into my ex husband down the road, what emotions that would bring back for me. The acting was top notch - Kristen Gutoskie captured that person who knew why they had walked away in the first place but couldn't help be drawn to that person again perfectly. Colin O'Donoghue nailed the angst and pain of his character as he once again came into contact with the person who had broken his heart. I would most definitely recommend this movie and plan on buying it on multiple platforms when it becomes available!
November 23, 2016
I was lucky enough to see The Dust Storm at the Stony Brook Film Festival in NY this summer. I didn't know what to expect going into it, keeping an open mind, and after seeing it, I was pleasantly surprised and completely moved by the whole film. 
The picturesque views & bright lights of Nashville, as well as an incredible array of bands and music, create the backdrop to tell the story of 'What happens when the one that got away, comes back?' Colin O'Donoghue (Once Upon A Time) and Kristen Gutoskie (Containment) give utterly stellar performances and their on-screen chemistry is amazing. The film has its moments of witty banter, a bit of laughter, romance and raw emotion, between characters Brennan & Nora, displaying the actors incredible range, in turn, completely blowing me away. Added bonus: they're both musically talent, vocally and instrumentally, which left me wanting to hear more, as I'm a huge fan of music. (I suggest doing a YouTube search for them, you won't be disappointed.) The band, The Feedback Revival, which perform as the soundtrack to the initial trailer, also appear in the film while their song 'Beautiful Life' sets the tone for an emotional scene between the two leads.
I walked out of the theater feeling speechless and awestruck by the performances, immediately wanting to see it again. It also left me thirsty for a beer, as there were plentiful amounts of drinking, and wanting to check off my bucket list by taking a trip to Nashville! It's not often that a film sticks with me, but The Dust Storm stayed with me for weeks after seeing it and I couldn't wait to tell my friends about how great it was and suggesting they see it as soon as they get the chance. Major kudos to Anthony Baldino III & Ryan Lacen for putting together a fantastic ensemble of a cast and bands to create a stunning, music-filled film. I'm counting down the days to the film's December 13th DVD release date so I can watch it over and over again!
November 22, 2016
I saw the Dust Storm at a couple of festivals but the most significant to me was the Nashville Film Festival. It was great to see the movie where the story took place and where it was filmed. The Nashville backdrop of Broadway, the walking bridge, the music bars and other iconic views of the city really brought life to the film. The story is engrossing. Lost love found over a weekend in Music City. The production and direction of the Dust Storm effectively used the skills, imagination and experiences of the two co-directors. The acting is memorable particularly that of Kristen Gutoskie who, in my opinion, stole the show. This movie is a giant stepping stone for her career. That's not meant to diminish the acting of Colin, Chris and Jim who all were great in their roles. And I can't forget the films music, much of which is original for the movie. I will most definitely see this movie again and highly recommend it to all the readers of this review.
November 22, 2016
I saw the Dust Storm at a couple of festivals but the most significant to me was the Nashville Film Festival. It was great to see the movie where the story took place and where it was filmed. The Nashville backdrop of Broadway, the walking bridge, the music bars and other iconic views of the city really brought life to the film. The story is engrossing. Lost love found over a weekend in Music City. The production and direction of the Dust Storm effectively used the skills, imagination and experiences of the two co-directors. The acting is memorable particularly that of Kristen Gutoskie who, in my opinion, stole the show. This movie is a giant stepping stone for her career. That's not meant to diminish the acting of Colin, Chris and Jim who all were great in their roles. And I can't forget the films music, much of which is original for the movie. I will most definitely see this movie again and highly recommend it to all the readers of this review.
November 15, 2016
This film was an intense look at the relationship between two people that had a bad break up seven years in the past. Excellent performances by Colin O'Donoghue and Kristen Gutoskie highlight their intense connection but also make it clear all the reasons that these two broke up in the first place. The soundtrack is incredible and the city of Nashville is practically a character of it's own.
Page 1 of 1