The Foreigner - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Foreigner Reviews

Page 2 of 38
½ November 8, 2018
A film that is a well-done action thriller but it could have been better if the action sequences and the thriller part is more balanced out.
November 6, 2018
Well done. Well directed. Bosnian and Chan act their roles well as usual. Im liking the dark and well thought out portrayal of Quan with nothing to lose to get revenge since he has nothing left. A backstory as military helps push the story along. As well as the mystery of attempting to figure out who did the bombing.
November 6, 2018
This movie felt like it was a perfect fresh story out of a great action movie studio. The actors did a marvelous performance on delivering their character's insights. Every single on of them even in the supporting roles. Cinematography, amazing. The script was great, and definitely had that Irish vibe they where going for. The visuals where great as well, and very practical, so everything looked crisp, clean and realistic. Sound effects where very realistic as well and matched the action scenes. The plot was amazingly fresh and honestly never seen before. (At least for me) It was also delivered in a great fashion which wasn't repetitive cliche, or cheesy at all. And it reflected on little problems that characters had through out the main story development. Which made it even more complex and entertaining.
Overall it's a very good movie, and respect for Chan making his own stunts again at his age, and all the actors and directors, and also the writer. Who said the English can't make a good movie?
October 29, 2018
RT drops the ball again. This is actually a well done movie. Yes, Chan does what Chan does but it's Pierce Brosnan that steals the show. He's become very good at playing attractive but ambiguous characters of slippery moral virtue (think The Matador.) His role in this is along those lines. Though not a revenge flick of John Wick or Payback quality, this still delivers a satisfying feeling of justice (partially) served. I especially liked the backdrop of Irish terrorism, a subject that's taken a backseat to so called "Islamic terror" these days.
½ October 27, 2018
The highlight of this action thriller is Jackie Chan's impeccable acting and what could be his best performance to date. The Foreigner proposes a complex, serious plot that places Chan completely out of his element, but he inhabits his role and steals the spotlight every minute he's on screen. It could've used some more action but all in all this movie is fresh, new, and genuinely enjoyable to watch.
October 21, 2018
When the trailer first came out, I think a lot of people were thinking the same thing: Jackie Chan's pulling a Liam Neeson, and that's exactly what he does in this grim, action/thriller. It's nowhere near as stylish as 'Taken' nor is it as good, by any means, with its thinly written characters and even thinner story. That being said, it's always fun to watch Jackie take on a bunch of bad guys and show them exactly what a big mistake they made.
October 21, 2018
What an awful film.

I love Jackie Chan, but this was absolute garbage.

The main reason The Foreigner fails on all respects is that it's a dull, uninteresting look at politics between the Irish and the British. Movies about politics are never interesting, period. I want to watch films to get away from the monotony of real life, not to hear more about it.

Jackie Chan is criminally underutilized in this film. He disappears about half-way through, his story replaced by a mundane political "thriller". Jackie Chan's character, Quan, could never have existed in this film and every outcome would be the same.

It's almost as if Martin Campbell realized how insufferably dull his film was, and decided to try and spice things up a bit by adding Jackie Chan and a couple of quick fight scenes.

Pierce Brosnan's Irish accent is horrible. It was actually distracting.

None of the characters in The Foreigner are interesting in any way. Quan (Jackie Chan) comes the closest, but doesn't have enough screen time to really make an impact. Not only that, but Quan's history is a muddled mess that doesn't exactly add up if you're paying attention to the details.

The Foreigner is a complete disappointment, a complete disregard of talent, and a complete waste of time.
October 19, 2018
Great story with a minimum of martial arts diversions. Both Jackie Chan and Pierce Brosnan are very convincing and engaging as men who are perhaps past their prime.
October 19, 2018
Came in with low expectations, but this movie greatly exceeded my expectations.

The story is much deeper than Jackie Chan's character wanting revenge, but it looks deep into the Irish/British relationship now. Brosnan's character is excellent as well. The whole cast portrays their character well. The story is well written and thought of.
October 12, 2018
The use of modern and mid 20th century history in this film set it apart from the typical action shootem up we usually see from this 1-man-seeking-vengence type theme. The Foreigner elicits thought provoking questions about modern politics in the UK and Ireland/Northern Ireland, and modern law enforcement policies in the 2 countries. The tone was well captured with excellent cinematography. Jacki made the serious role as good as any comedy he's ever done - and the realism in the combat scenes was palpable which actually enhanced the weightier undertones of the story. This film may utilize the formula we see in the Taken series and many others, but it was written and produced for a more current-events-oriented and mature audience. What's more, we are left considering that a person like Jacki's character could actually exist.
October 12, 2018
A truly unexpected pleasure. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Jackie Chan gives a bravura performance.
October 12, 2018
Better than I ever expected. Genuine and not as cheesy PG-13 as most Jackie Chan flicks. I'd watch it again.
½ October 10, 2018
It may be derivative and unfocused, but its highly nuanced and complex characters make all the difference.
½ October 8, 2018
Well-scripted and well-acted story of justice and revenge. Jackie Chan adds emotional vulnerability to his martial arts repertoire. Pierce Brosnan leaves behind his cheeky demeanor to give his best serious performance.
½ October 7, 2018
THE FOREIGNER (2017) with Jackie Chan and Pierce Brosnan is an entertaining, touching film. I thoroughly enjoyed watching it.
½ September 30, 2018
Its refreshing to see Jackie Chan in a more serious role.
The Foreigner has drama, great action and great performances by both Jackie Chan and by Pierce Brosnan.
½ September 16, 2018
Brosnan and Chan are very confident, which is the best part of the movie.
September 15, 2018
9/16/2018
I haven't seen a Jackie Chan movie in quite a while. This film has a lot of things going on I wasn't able to quite keep up. Got a little bit sleepy watching it too.
September 6, 2018
I rented this film on a Blu-ray disk, and feel it was worth it. What I liked about the film - 1) The acting is good, and I understand why critics and others. Gave Jackie Chan's performance positive reviews. 2) The plot is straight forward, and the movie moves a long at a good pace. There are no real subplots, to lengthen the run time of film. 3) The production values are good, and what you would expect from film with a good sized budget. Other thoughts - Mr. Chan's character, is suppose to be 61 years old. In scenes that don't have a lot of action in them. He kind of shuffles along, but in the action scenes, it's like he's 21! I know that he still insists on doing all of his stunts though.???? It was nice seeing Pierce Brosnan, in one of the lead roles. I think he would make a wonder older James Bond 007, or a senior officer in Mi-6. I hope he does more film and/or TV work.
½ September 3, 2018
I have to be honest, it wasn't exactly the movie I thought it'd be. It was a little less action-packed and more thought provoking and emotional than Chan's other films. The father/daughter aspect it follows gives it more depth and purpose, and the storyline has a twist or two, which I always enjoy. If you're ready to accept a deeper, less-martial-arts side of Jackie Chan than you're normally used to, I believe you'll dig it as much as I did.
Page 2 of 38