The Hollow - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Hollow Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ April 19, 2019
Just can't take the screaming by the 3 sisters... they were warned dozens of times to stop screaming and be quiet because the demon they are running from will hear them but they refused. 3/4 of the way through the movie I started rooting for the demon because i just couldn't take it any more. Not an intelligent one in the bunch... and this movie really should have been titled EMMA! Given the ridiculous number of times one of the two sisters screamed it over and over and over again.
½ September 26, 2017
This film goes through quite a quality curve, to the point of looking either like it was created by multiple directors or simple had no direction. After opening with some of the most cliche'd dialogue in history, the film eventually gets to the point where the tension begins and people start to die (if that's a spoiler to you, you might be the only person to find this film original). When the tension kicks in, "The Hollow" does supply a solid middle act with some good little jumps, decent pacing and CGI that certainly seems better than the rest of this low budget affair would warrant. However, and without spoilers here, the third act descends all the way back and results in a climax that is both CRINGE warrantingly cliche and also completely impossible to accept, even with your brain utterly switched off. I wanted to like this film, but the characters act with unclear and often illogical motives, the menacing creature seems to lose all it's most menacing qualities by the end, and EMMA. The character Emma, for her entire screen time, is possibly the most irritating and hate inducing character in cinema history. The flicker of a cult hit instead becomes a forgettable amateur hour flop.
July 9, 2016
Badly acted nonsense with a cool but wasted monster that looked mini me Balrog
½ June 19, 2016
Horrible.

One of those movies you wish the monster gets everyone a few mins in.

Tried to force myself to watch it and couldn't. Turned it off 3/4 through.
April 17, 2016
One of the worst horror movies I have seen in a long time. The emotion is incredibly forced and fake, and the characters are entirely unlikable. The plot is almost entirely based around dumb mistakes made by the characters and by the end of the movie you are actually routing for the monster. The monster and premise of the movie I thought showed at least some glimmer of hope, but it was ultimately wasted.
½ April 2, 2016
The storm brought something with it...something evil.

A small town on an island has a treacherous past of witches on the island where some were killed and during one particular execution the witches put a curse on the island. A storm comes to the island and a strange entity comes with it and begins destroying the town's people. Can the townspeople who know about the curse stop the entity from killing everyone on the island?

"It's using her as bait."

Sheldon Wilson, director of Scarecrow, Shallow Ground, Mega Cyclone, Mothman, Cold Spring, Killer Mountain, The Unspoken, and Carny, delivers The Hollow. The storyline for this picture is fairly cliché with some unique special effects and kill sequences. The acting and writing are very mediocre and nothing special.

"They burned six girls on a stake."

I came across this on Netflix on the new release list and decided to add it to the queue. This was very mediocre and "just another addition to the horror genre." I wouldn't go too out of my way to see this and felt this was just another addition to the horror genre.

Grade: C
March 6, 2016
The Hollow 2015 - Emma, Emma, Emma and Emma into infinity. If you watched this movie you know what I mean. Not a good film but not terrible either. It has nonstop action a decent CGI monster and plenty of violent deaths. Felt more like a TV movie then a feature film and for all I know it was. Do not go out of your way to see it but if you get search fatigue you could do worse. #horrormovies
Super Reviewer
March 1, 2016
Sort of weird that this film's poster is for another completely different movie, The Hive, as if it wasn't obvious by looking at your left. I can already tell that The Hive, having seen its trailer, is considerably better than this. I don't really even know what to say about this movie. It's not even that it has a good concept, because it doesn't. A monster that came about because a set of people put a curse on the town, been there, done that. But the film started out somewhat promisingly. Perhaps that's a little too strong of a term to use, but there was potential here and the movie, particularly for a SyFy original movie, looked considerably better than who commissioned it might imply. But, as the film progressed, there was pretty much nothing to like about this movie. It's about as straightforward of a monster film as you can get. It's witless and joyless. Part of what makes some of the more famous monster movies so enjoyable is that they're completely self-aware as to what they are and what they're gonna offer. There's no delusions or pretensions of grandeur. And I'm not saying that this film wanted to be anything more than it was, but they don't take pride in the fact that, as much as it is a horror movie, there's also a monster movie deep down at its core. And I'm not saying that this approach would've worked for every monster movie, like the Godzilla reboot for one, but in these sort of low-budget, TV movies then you need all you can to set yourself apart, or at the very least to get people to want to watch your flick. This movie, as I mentioned, doesn't do any of that with its witless and uninteresting approach. First things first, the characters themselves aren't entirely likable. Sarah is a control freak who feels the need to make huge life-changing decisions for people without their input, Marley is always complaining and Emma is, literally, one of the most useless characters I've seen in a long time. So, yea, it's really kind of hard to rally around Sarah and Marley in their search for Emma when all of them are so unlikable as human beings. Not to mention the fact that the acting is pretty bad. No one is good, but Stephanie Hunt, who played Sarah, was really the worst of them all. There's no real sense of urgency in anything she says or how she acts. Her face looks the same if she's stressed, sad, happy or angry. I don't know if I've seen her before, but she was awful here. Sarah Dugdale, who played Marley, was a little better, but her character was pretty much one-note. I have no idea how good, or not, the actress playing Emma was, but the character is so ridiculously useless. This girl is either crying, getting saved or standing around doing absolutely nothing. And the climax sees her finally standing up for herself and her sister as she's moments away from being killed by the monster. This is a good idea in theory, but they go about in the stupidest way possible. The whole thing is that this monster only kills people on Halloween. The day after, it disappears to not be seen again until the next year, or something. So Marley is injured and laying on the forest floor, next to a tree. The monster then starts to climb down the tree to face Marley. Marley has all but given up as she sent Emma away to get some help and she fears her life is over. Emma then appears, standing in front of the sun, covering it. Then she moves to the side so that the sunlight can hit the monster and destroy it. The thing that's so fucking stupid about this is the fact that Emma, in trying to look cool or add some drama to it, almost cost her remaining sister her life. Just let the fucking sunlight hit the monster, don't stand in front of it like a dumbass because you want a "cool" reveal of Emma finally doing something. Great, she went from being useless to a complete moron. That's not much of an upgrade. That was their idea. Really, the entire film is poorly written, but this idea to make Emma into someone who actually does something might actually have been one of the stupidest things I've seen in a long time. This movie really is quite terrible. Might not have seemed like it as I was watching it, but it was considerably worse once I sat down to write this. At least it was a relatively short film, so I can't complain about that. Everything else, however, is terrible and I can't imagine why anyone would actually want to watch this. Avoid.
February 7, 2016
Hollow is a good name for the script and acting.....what a bunch of poo.
February 7, 2016
This is an example of a movie that knows what to do with its modest budget. As the majority of the first half of the film relies more on atmosphere (which, to be honest, it isnā??t entirely successful in doing) than on special effects, it means that more effort could be put into properly creating the monster.

Now the monster, when you boil it down, is nothing more than twigs and a burning light, but itā??s been designed well enough that itā??s reasonably creepy. Despite some early scenes which would suggest otherwise thereā??s also very little blood and gore in this film, and many of the killings take place off-screen. This meant that there didnā??t need to be an attempt to create horrific scenes which the budget most likely would not have allowed for, and where you do see someone being killed itā??s more a case of them being charred from the inside out rather than being eviscerated.
January 1, 2016
It really doesn't get much worse than this. As is often the case with a SyFy production, great monster and possibly a great premise but getting it onto film proves almost too hard to accomplish and it ends up turning any watcher's mind into so much turgid mush. Terrible acting, hackneyed direction and less suspense than an episode of the worst child's TV show you've ever seen. It could've been so much better but really can't have turned out any worse than this. Avoid it. It isn't a horror movie, is no thriller and aside from the creature - the only reason for the single star - there is nothing to recommend this garbage. Better to find another movie because this will just annoy the hell out of you.
December 9, 2015
Um, you know what? This movie wasn't like especially good or anything, but... I like it. I like that it's about a trio of sisters and there's an overwhelming amount of women on screen throughout the entire thing, that it's about women (witches) getting revenge for being burned, nobody fell in love within a few moments of knowing each other (or at all), and they were always their own saviors. And even though the creature in this isn't done very well sometimes, cgi wise, other times it's pretty neat and the idea of it is really excellent.
December 4, 2015
The Hive or what's better known as The Hollow was incredibly stupid and boring and forget the end of the film. That's the worst part. How did they screw that up? In the only was possible, by being a Syfy original film. So apparently some decendant of Ichabob Crane is in this town. I have no clue. They don't even make mention of that in the film. Anyway, that's the beginning of the mess.

The plot is only explained later and is dumb and has nothing to do with a Headless Horseman at all. Anyway, this asshole can only come out every 100 years to this island and then dies immediately and automatically the next day. So I don't know if I was fooled or this is the wrong film, but the Internet doesn't seem to be pointing to the correct film at all, or Comcast for that matter. The entire film is a giant waste of time.
November 29, 2015
Forgettable. I came back to write a review to go with the star rating and can barely recall the plot. Convoluted.
½ November 14, 2015
did anyone or anybody try to kill that weird thing with water?. fire kills water!
November 5, 2015
Absolutely chock full of the worst horror film cliches.
Repeated dire warnings not to go to the bad place that are ignored - check
Locals who all go into hiding - check
Psychic/nightmare warnings to a main character ignored - check
Unpleasant teens - check
People running headlong into haunted woods - check
Vehicle breaking down in the middle of nowhere - check

Lame, derivative and lacking respect for the audience.
½ November 1, 2015
An all around good thriller centered around all hallows eve with an interesting story.
Page 1 of 1