The Moon Is Blue - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Moon Is Blue Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ April 7, 2019
Comedia a la antigua.
May 16, 2018
Enjoyable comic romantic story.
½ February 18, 2017
I really enjoyed this movie. Started my Saturday morning with it, and it made me feel light hearted and warm. Kind of like riding my old 68 motorcycle, throttle brakes and a clutch, horn doesn't work, speedometer fell off a long time ago, but it purrs like a kitten.
December 22, 2014
THE MOON IS BLUE is a comedy based on a stage play about the kooky happenings one evening when a playboy bachelor brings an innocent young woman back to his apartment for dinner.You'll never know who these people really are in this movie. They have no background. They just appear in the Empire State Building in order to get the story rolling. And roll it does. It's a very superficial, pretty inconsequential, and funny comedy. Who cares who the characters are or were, anyway? The thing most important is physical and sexual and all the jockeying that goes on before the relationship reaches that point. It turns out to be a comedy-writer's paradise. Of course in the end they will get married to at least throw a bone to social mores. Holden is near top form and Niven, as his older upstairs neighbor whose daughter was Holden's girlfriend, is classic.
May 19, 2014
descent studio rom-com
April 24, 2014
Ridiculous and unfunny. Not even David Niven could save it.
Super Reviewer
½ January 2, 2014
Preminger likely was proud of this film pushing the Code's seal of approval and Niven thought enough about it to name his autobiography after it but it really isn't much to write home about. Holden and Niven who are so fantastic in other roles are terribly flat.
½ March 27, 2013
Great lines delivered quickly; a proper screwball rom-com for a girls night in. Does a meeting on top of the Empire State Building sound familiar? One of my favorite Niven's characters too.
½ November 10, 2012
For a movie which broke rules, which introduces words like "virgin", "seduce" and "mistress" back into the movie vocabulary, but even for that the movie has far greater entertainment value.
½ April 21, 2012
Patty reminds me of Audrey Hepburn in Breakfast at Tiffany's. This move has many cute cliché's. Feels less like a movie and more like a play, which it was originally.
January 13, 2012
Boy, that was a quirky movie.
December 7, 2011
Very good film with director Preminger not so subtly pecking away at the Hayes' Code. A young virgin actress (Maggie McNamara) meets an architect (William Holden) at the Empire State Building. She agrees to go back to his apartment - him with obvious intentions and her with more ambiguous thoughts. Soon we meet playboy and father (David Niven) whose daughter is smitten, but upset with the architect. Both men become fascinated by the young but very verbose actress as situations arise forcing characters to move about and interact with each other. The film sports tremendous dialogue throughout and all actors give excellent performances. The use of the word "virgin" was particularly taboo at the time. The female character is still fascinating in her brash discussions - leaving what is typically unsaid now revealed and the male characters often have difficulty adapting to her frank words. It is a wonderful interplay. Definitely worth seeing!
jjnxn
Super Reviewer
December 5, 2011
Silly comedy once notorious for it's use of the word virgin is now just dated nonsense.
November 2, 2011
when it comes to matters of sex deception is everything, and everyone's a hypocrite, otto knows, and the tv program is hysterical
½ August 19, 2011
Conversation heavy romantic comedy - and a stage play script, but it does have a more than competent cast.
February 2, 2011
*gasp* they said the word "virgin." one of the first pictures to challenge the production code. now it's just a witty, little film. but it was quite scandalous in 1953.
July 25, 2010
It's difficult to imagine the scandal this movie caused upon it's release simply for using the words "virgin", "mistress" and "seduce" but alas, we live in a different world now. The performances are good, but the movie is very much a product of it's era.
½ April 6, 2010
What was daring in 1953 is merely dated now. "The Moon Is Blue" is intermittently charming and well filmed and acted for the most part, but it's very stagy and talky.
November 17, 2009
I am not sure why there was such a fuss back in 1953 when this film was released. It was released without the Motion Picture Production Code approval, because words like "virgin" and "mistress" were used. Director Otto Preminger refused to have them taken out, thus a scandal. It's hard to believe!! The comedy is actually rather bland, it is saved by William Holden and David Niven's presence. I can't imagine how Maggie McNamara nabbed an Oscar nomination for this one.
spaulsson
Super Reviewer
November 3, 2009
What a shame. One of the best movies I've seen and there's almost no one that has seen it. The script is absolutely brilliant. So is the acting. So is the imagery. Perhaps one of the most overlooked movies ever?
Page 1 of 2