The Pearl of Death - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Pearl of Death Reviews

Page 2 of 3
½ January 24, 2010
Oddly enough, this movie plays more like a James Bond movie then a Sherlock Holmes. There is very little Holmsian deducing. Instead, we know who the villain is, there is a beautiful villainess, a strange, super powered henchman, and a knife throwing book. All that's missing is a car chase, a good fight and a sex scene. Having said that, Basil Rathbone, of course, still makes an excellent Holmes.
½ December 5, 2009
Fantastic for you sleths out there!!f
September 24, 2009
Yet another fine Sherlock adventure, this one short on mystery but with a good bit of suspense.
January 28, 2009
Great, but I did fall asleep (maybe I watched it too late at 8PM)
January 5, 2009
I like that this was based on one of the originial Doyle stories. The story is fun, fast paced and suspenseful like all of the Rathbone/Bruce films. It's weird because The Creeper actually looks like that. I looked it up haha. The pearl is fucking huge and I wish I had it!!! Loved it!
December 19, 2008
Though not the most memorble of the Rathbone 'Holmes flicks, 'Pearl of Death' is good enough to hold your attension. In today's age of CGI explosions and mass-murder, it's nice to watch a no-nonsence, old school film that doesn't feel the need to deviate from it's path with sub-plots, twists and flashbacks. By no means a classic, but it's worth a look if you're into old cinema. Plus, Basil Rathbone is still the screen's definitive Sherlock Holmes.
November 27, 2008
This installment actually lends itself more to the horror genre because of its memorable villain, The Creeper. Holmes retrieves the famous pearl only to be responsible, due to sheer arrogance, for its theft from the museum. Giles Conover is the mastermind, but his henchman in the shadows is why this film is remembered. Actor Rondo Hatton, who played The Creeper, suffered from acromegaly, a pituitary gland disorder. I would say this film is darker than most in the series. It is based on "The Adventure of the Six Napoleons."
Super Reviewer
½ June 26, 2008
My favorite of the Sherlock Holmes movies.
June 10, 2008
I wish I could watch every movie ever made but I sadly don't have the time. I'm not interested in this movie because I don't think I'll like it or don't know enough about it to think I might like it. I may still end up seeing it some day though.
January 14, 2008
Another good mystery with as search for the pearl. It's all getting a bit too familiar by now.
December 1, 2007
basil rathbone was the best sherlock
November 2, 2007
Classified as a classic = Interested.
October 24, 2007
There's not a hell of a lot of mystery or suspense in this Holmes movie, I'm sorry to say. The sets, the characters and the plot are all so generic and ordinary that nothing really stands out.

It begins with Holmes successfully recovering a priceless stolen pearl (wow, what an amazing macguffin) from a bunch of thieves and returning it to it's rightful owner. But, in a moment of arrogance, he disables the alarm at the museum when he points out the security faults and the pearl is stolen again by some arch-villain who fails to impress and probably wouldn't even say boo to a goose in real life.

The usual questions and snooping around follow with Lestrade acting like a moron and Watson bumbling around in the background. I'm grateful that this one doesn't have any silly WWII sentiment in it but, once again, it is clearly filmed on Universal's medieval Europe set which looks and feels absolutely nothing like London. Did you know that I have, so far, not seen Big Ben in any one one of these Rathbone/Bruce movies. Even some stock footage spliced in there would make it just the tiniest bit more authentic.

And what's the fascination with Pearls anyway? It's just a marble made by an oyster.
September 5, 2007
best sherlock holmes you will ever see. Trust me on this. They couldnt film it as good as this now.
July 25, 2007
I love SHerlock, haven't seen this yet though.
½ July 1, 2007
One of the three best Universal Sherlock Holmes films.
June 13, 2007
BASIL RATHBONE IS THE BEST HOLMES...ALL THE MOVIES ARE GREAT..THIS ONE IS ONE OF THE BEST IN MY OPINION
January 9, 2007
i might like this film
½ December 10, 2006
Quite a poor movie to say the least..... Certainly not worth the time to watch it.
December 7, 2006
Basil Rathbone is equally the best Sherlock Holmes ever.
Page 2 of 3