The Pink Cloud - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Pink Cloud Reviews

Page 1 of 3
January 9, 2022
After a while, writer-director Iuli Gerbase's boldly mundane take on forced isolation gives way to a regular sort of mundanity.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 14, 2022
The intentionality and editorial eye that make the style of this film so compelling feels sorely lacking from the script, which is at once scattered and repetitive.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 10, 2022
The movie runs out of points to make long before a conclusion we easily anticipate arrives.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 18, 2022
It may be odd to say but Gerbase seems to have made the movie too effective for its own good. I appreciated the effort but wanted out.
June 5, 2021
This feature debut from ... is a frightening and inventive look at isolation and long-term love, unreliant on any Covid context to boost its brand.
January 13, 2022
Like other works of prescient sci-fi, "The Pink Cloud" forecasts an eerie funhouse-mirror image of our present lives.
March 6, 2021
An accurate depiction of the psychological evolution this couple undergoes during this extreme global catastrophic event. Made me grateful the current pandemic isn't this extreme.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
February 6, 2021
Watching Giovana and Yago come to terms with oppressive boredom and inertia relates to our own troubles over the past year.
February 12, 2021
Luli Gerbase's debut film may have not been made with the current times in mind, but "The Pink Cloud" depicts the highs and lows of forced quarantine with eerie accuracy.
February 3, 2021
The Pink Cloud is a perfectly atmospheric and hair-raising movie that seems less sci-fi in these COVID days. Highly recommended.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
January 31, 2021
Yet the film captures more than the oppressive boredom and listlessness that an extended quarantine entails, as the cloud itself makes a striking allegory for the imposition of traditional tenets of femininity in conventional heterosexual relationships.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.1/10
January 29, 2021
With an eerie timeliness and grounded, multi-layered performances, THE PINK CLOUD holds its own.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
January 19, 2022
The Pink Cloud really invites us to consider, both individually and as a society, how much we do or do not need physical interaction with nature and other humans.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 1, 2021
Under unexpected scrutiny from an audience with a newfound connection to the problems presented, Gerbase's narrative holds up quite well.
February 4, 2021
The Pink Cloud is a terrifying look into loneliness and how it can drive people into moulding their own realities as an escape; a beautiful and thought-provoking piece of work that is so astounding in its timeliness, it borders on clairvoyance.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 31, 2021
A clever and thoughtful sci-fi drama with hits all too close to home.
January 11, 2022
If the opening title card of The Pink Cloud didn't state that the film was written in 2017 and film in 2019, you never would have believed it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 12, 2021
For a feature debut, this story strikes me as incredibly courageous and I can't wait to see what comes next for Iuli Gerbase.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
February 8, 2021
It's strange how something written in 2017 and shot in 2019 can fully encapsulate so many of the feelings brought on by the pandemic of 2020.
January 29, 2021
A prophetic study on human behaviors stymied by a doomsday scenario, Gerbase's microscopic observations feel painfully accurate when at one time they might have been described as chilling but from the safe distance of fantasy and escapism.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Page 1 of 3