The Pink Cloud - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Pink Cloud Reviews

January 21, 2022
I was impressed, agitated, terrified, depressed by this movie - but I also couldn't help feeling like I had maybe not ultimately seen the film its director wanted me to see.
January 20, 2022
If you're game for an emerging filmmaking talent's stingingly uncanny foretelling, "The Pink Cloud" is an arresting examination of what it can look like when existence is misshaped into a compromised destiny.
January 20, 2022
"The Pink Cloud" is prescient and mildly affecting, if also susceptible to the question: Is it too soon to be watching a pandemic allegory while we're still living through a pandemic?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 14, 2022
The intentionality and editorial eye that make the style of this film so compelling feels sorely lacking from the script, which is at once scattered and repetitive.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 14, 2022
This thoughtful film reflects well on the writer-director who made it.
Full Review | Original Score: B
January 13, 2022
Like other works of prescient sci-fi, "The Pink Cloud" forecasts an eerie funhouse-mirror image of our present lives.
January 11, 2022
Gerbase shows talent here, but viewing The Pink Cloud requires nerves of steel that might not be available to even the strongest among us at this particular point in time.
January 9, 2022
After a while, writer-director Iuli Gerbase's boldly mundane take on forced isolation gives way to a regular sort of mundanity.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 10, 2021
Casts an oddly therapeutic spell through its ominous perceptiveness of a worldwide health crisis, with thoughtful camerawork and surreal production design elements propelling its observations into spine-tingling familiarity.
February 10, 2021
This sounds like a nightmare to watch during a pandemic, but The Pink Cloud is haunting and riveting in the best way. It acutely diagnoses a mental state that will feel startlingly familiar.
February 8, 2021
Whichever way you choose to interpret it, The Pink Cloud indulges some of our grimmest musings about pandemic existence.
February 8, 2021
The way it builds a microcosm that exacerbates the worst in human dynamics and fears is outstanding.
February 5, 2021
The Pink Cloud felt extraordinary not just because it eerily echoed real life, but also because it brought stylishness and grace to its setting of drab apartment interiors.
February 2, 2021
Every element of Gerbase's feature works, the music, the acting and the screenplay.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 29, 2021
Brazilian drama The Pink Cloud, writer-director Iuli Gerbase's uncannily prescient debut, has accidentally made what could well be the definitive fictional statement about the experience of Covid-19 lockdown.
January 29, 2021
The Pink Cloud is an assured first feature, confident in tone and adept in handling both a closed, interior drama and an expansive metaphysical conundrum.
Top Critic
January 29, 2021
With disconcerting accuracy, "The Pink Cloud" nails small specificities of everyday life shorn of live human contact...
January 29, 2021
Though Gerbase has conceived of a fascinating, timely inciting incident for her film, much of "The Pink Cloud" eventually melts into all the beats of a standard relationship drama. (And, yes, we mean all the beats.)
Full Review | Original Score: B-