The Sound of Fury (Try and Get Me!) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Sound of Fury (Try and Get Me!) Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
½ July 20, 2020
In "Try and Get Me," Howard Tyler(Frank Lovejoy) has no luck finding work either at home or on the road, which is especially problematic with his wife Judy(Kathleen Ryan) expecting their second child. Howard is so desperate that he accepts an offer from Jerry Slocum(Lloyd Bridges, surprisingly effective) to be a getaway driver. But at least the money is good. Newspaper columnist Gil Stanton(Richard Carlson) does not see it the same way, of course.

First and foremost, "Try and Get Me" is a movie of the period it was made when a neighborhood gathered around a single television set and also one very much ahead of its time, not only in the ingenious way it was crafted, but also in its attitudes.(Judy dreams of a painless childbirth while another character states she is saving herself for marriage to her friend who certainly isn't. And this was 1950.) I would also not disagree with the assessment that this movie was unique for its time in its exploration of class issues, encapsulated perfectly in a cut from Howard fantasizing about the perfect barbecue to it really happening at Gil's.(This was also before microbreweries and hence beer snobs.) But that's all we really needed of Gil, as he exists solely as a stand-in for yellow journalism and to have conversations with the Voice of Reason(Renzo Cesana) about the need for fair trials and a society without violence. I mean after that climax, what more needs to be said?
July 20, 2020
Pretty excellent start to the Film Noir fest; early Lloyd Bridges and a hell of a climax...
July 20, 2020
While the focus in the first hour is on the degradation of one man's morals in the face of his family's financial struggles, the last half hour shifts to questions of nature/nurture and journalistic ethics, and becomes much less compelling.
jjnxn
Super Reviewer
½ July 20, 2020
What starts as a conventional drama of a man in a tight spot unexpectedly becomes an indictment of careless journalism and mob rule and is all the better for it. Some of the acting is overwrought, Lloyd Bridges in particular lets it fly ever now and then, but not enough to dimish the message of this little known but effective film.
December 28, 2016
Launching from the same true incident that was the basis for Fritz Lang's Fury (1936), Cy Endfield's film also tells the story of mob violence that ends in lynching. However, The Sound of Fury really turns the screws on Frank Lovejoy's down-and-out California transplant, showing him to be guilty (at least by association) whereas Spencer Tracy was wrongly accused in the earlier film. So, this film is a true noir, as Lovejoy's first mistake leads inexorably to his tragic downfall. Things are all the tougher to take because he has a wife and a child, one of the reasons that he gives in to the easy money available in the life of crime offered by slick and sleazy Lloyd Bridges (who provides a tremendous incarnation of the sociopath). So, on the one hand, we understand that social forces have led to Lovejoy's bad decision, but on the other hand, we can see Bridges is an amoral opportunist. When the mob descends on them, we know it is wrong tarring Lovejoy and Bridges with the same brush - but Bridges doesn't deserve lynching any less. A subplot showing how "yellow journalism" has incited the crowd is a little less effective and more didactic, but viewers can grasp the take home point that democracy requires a fair trial that isn't biased by the press. The fact that this democratic ideal was subverted here (and in the real incident) makes this a dark and troubling film indeed.
April 20, 2014
A gripping noir with a moral twist that suprisingly works very well thanks to a great script and convincing performances from the talented cast.
½ April 30, 2011
2 sentence summary has one spoiler, and ruins an excellent left-turn noir.
½ January 19, 2011
A man is out of work and struggling financially, he gets work acting as a (reluctant) getaway driver and witnesses a murder. The effect of the local newspaper upon its readers is shown very effectively as the murderer and his unwilling accomplice become victims of 'mob justice'. The film is otherwise rather melodramatic, but the vigilante mob was very believable, perhaps tabloid journalists should watch the film as a warning.
July 4, 2010
well umn just seen this movie 4 the 1st time n think that this is a good movie 2 watch.......its got a good cast of actors/actressess thorughout this movie......i think that Lloyd bridges, katherine locke, frank lovejoy, kathleen ryan, richard carlson play good roles/parts throughout this movie......i think that Lloyd bridges, frank lovejoy, richard carlson were great throughout this movie......i think that the director of this classics/film noir/comedy/thriller movie had done a good job of directing this movie because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie.........i think that this is a good classics movie 2 watch its got a great cast throughout this movie i think that this is an enjoyable movie 2 watch n its a really good classics movie 2 watch with a good cast throughout this movie n its enjoyable movie
½ April 23, 2010
Excellent inditement of society on many levels.
April 17, 2010
I saw this film as a boy and found it to be the most frightening film I could imagine. More worrisome than 'Psycho' it posited the idea of a dark and malevolent side to the human character. Seeing it again as an adult, although sometimes more grand guignol than film noir, it has not lost its power. The cheers of the lynch crowd as they crow their killings still made my blood run cold.
October 1, 2009
I think I read a piece by Jonathan Rosenbaum somewhere where he mentions this as the most pessimistic Film Noir he ever saw. I can't think of a grimmer one. It certainly is one of the most damning looks at American life ever filmed: the protracted mob violence at the end of is horrifying and without hope. It paints such a bleak picture of economic disparity, American vengeance, moralizing, and media fear mongering. Timely today as it was in 1950, it should be better known. It has its heavy handed and awkward moments but you are not going to find a film more critical of America.
½ May 22, 2008
Like "Fury" on steroids (yet even darker), this tale about the mob instinct latent in middle america. Made before the director got himself blacklisted. Pretty "over-the-top", yet great if you like noir.
March 5, 2008
Superbly handled indictment of capital punishment and media responsibility, which shares some of the themes of Fritz Lang's 'Fury'.
Frank Lovejoy would never have a better role, Lloyd Bridges is mind-bogglingly psychotic.
Made by Cyril 'Cy' Endfield before he was blacklisted and came to Britain for work, it's a breathtaking piece of work, wonderfully written by Joe Pagano from his novel (and based on a true incident), uniformly well acted and deftly directed. Seek it out.
Page 1 of 1