Thunder and Lightning - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Thunder and Lightning Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ April 15, 2015
Packed full of great action sequences, hysterical humor, and witty one-liners. Reminded me of a swampy Dukes of hazard with Coon-Asses!
½ July 27, 2014
Packed full of great action sequences, hysterical humor, and witty one-liners. Reminded me of a swampy Dukes of hazard with Coon-Asses!
August 3, 2013
David Carradine and Angel Kate Jackson take on corrupt moonshiner in this Southern adventure. Plenty of positives including the cast, moonshiners, an alligator-wrestling preacher and a couple thugs lamenting too much violence on tv. True to form, this Corman feature loses it by spending the entire second half in an extended car chase.
December 10, 2012
another moonshine running movie but be warned this not 'thunder road' with robert mitchem
October 27, 2012
1970s moonshine running film billed as 250 proof fun but that is probably an overstatement by about 200. Liked the cast but I'm just not into endless series of car chases, crashes, and cars driving through things to a banjo score.
June 4, 2012
no info = not interested
March 18, 2010
1970s moonshine running film billed as 250 proof fun but that is probably an overstatement by about 200. Liked the cast but I'm just not into endless series of car chases, crashes, and cars driving through things to a banjo score.
January 22, 2010
"she's trying to ditch school, I did it all last we-...uh...maybe she caught what´╗┐ i HAD."
clever!
April 4, 2009
David Carradine had only recently left TV and KUNG-FU behind him and Kate Jackson was on a break from CHARLIES ANGELS when they starred in this good-ol-boy action movie that features Carradine as an independent driver hauling moonshine going up against his larger mob-backed competition (namely his lady love Jackson's daddy and his goons). So everyone's accent takes on a south-of-the Mason-Dixon twang (except for the New Jersey muscle who show up later on in the film), there are lots of car chases along dirt roads with various souped-up V8-powered American cars, and Carradine beats the s**t out of anyone stupid enough to get in his way. Inspired by the Burt Reynolds movie GATOR, films like this led to TV's DUKES OF HAZZARD. I docked this one one star for that, but added it back in because Carradine wasin the film.
January 12, 2009
4.5/10. Silly and dated, Kate Jackson's poor performance is no help either. She is badly miscast. It's meant to be a crowd pleaser, but only occasionally entertains. Some decent editing and photography though.
November 9, 2008
This movie was hilarious! The whole crocodile in the church cracked me up along with the banjo music and hilbilly theme throughout the movie. Very entertaining. Not the greatest acting, but still entertaining.
½ November 1, 2008
skip this and see thunder road with Mitchum pretty much the same story but better actors
Super Reviewer
½ October 18, 2008
A good ol' Hillbilly-sploitation film brought to you by Roger Corman.
There is really very little to hate about this film. You can read the synopsis, but really all you need to know is that there's lots of down south attitude, chases, and great lines.
David Carradine isn't amazing, but he fits the role well enough, better that his dangly earring fits on him. This film is also jam-packed with great voice and character actors that you'll definitely recognize, especially Sterling Holloway, the unmistakable voice of Winnie the Pooh.
½ September 3, 2008
Contains what I must assume is the most "Redneck" car chase in the history of cinema. Seeing Roger C. Carmel somewhere other than Star Trek is about the only thing good I could find in this movie.
July 11, 2008
Some decent car chases, otherwise long and blah. David Carradine was so unappealing in it.
November 15, 2007
light-weight mindless fun that's basically DUKES OF HAZZARD meets SMOKEY AND THE BANDIT.
August 25, 2007
pretty entertaining,if you liked the dukes of hazzard, you would like this.
June 12, 2007
but in the day david Carradine was like the B-Movie Burt Reynolds, this flick proves it.
April 13, 2007
no info = not interested
½ August 11, 2006
David Carradine as Kung-Fu McKlusky? I wish Thunder and Lightning was that good but it is a passable Drive In flix due to its many car chases/crashes and a couple of old timers making shine. Kate Jackson is completely miscast in this (how long did that girl stay w/ her crooked daddy?) and Carradine looks high most of the time (maybe thats why he got the role as a moonrunner). I was happy for the casting of Charles Napier though (even if he's not in it nearly enough)
Page 1 of 1