Tintorera - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Tintorera Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ November 7, 2013
An ultra-schlocky JAWS rip-off, it's very minutely redeemed by some terrific live shark footage. Beyond that, we're left with laughable characterizations, utterly bizarre plotting, and lots of gratuitous sex. Personal mileage may vary, but this one just does not work at all.
November 13, 2012
Apparently this isn't a JAWS ripoff, the screen play was adapted from the book Tintorera. There's more bikinis then sharks in this paradise of swing. Boobies and blood and real animals getting sluaghtered.
½ April 27, 2012
If you like your 1970's Jaws rip offs to be soft core porn about a pair of Mexican 'Shark Hunters' named Miguel and Steve who enter into a summer long three way with Susan George, then this is for you. Horrible, but once you start watching you won't be able to look away. There are some well done shark attacks in the last 3 minutes of the flick, but the majority of this film is about the alternate lifestyle of Miguel and Steve. Tintorera is for Jaws rip off completists ONLY. It should be noted this flick is filled with horrible killings of poor sharks that are quite real, and the fact these sharks were probably killed for no other reason than this film was actually quite tough to stomach. Susan George looks really good though...
½ October 26, 2011
not very gory by today's standards (or even for the 70s)..more a soft core porn plot than a horror movie...more sharks killed than people (and the sharks were actually harpooned)..worst movie I've ever seen and that's saying a lot.
September 2, 2011
Movie is so bad, it actually works. I saw it on TV, but there was a few nice gore moments, a guys head stuck between the sharks teeth was nice; not to mention TONS of nudity, all blurred of course. WOndering what was cut?
Also, the fact that the film was less about the killer shark, and more about the 2 lead dudes banging every chick they meet! The 3 some scenes were hilarious, especially the walking on the beach montage!
Horribly dubbed as well! :)
May 16, 2011
While not a good movie any way, still sort of fun with good cinematography and a passable love triangle story with a ton of gratuitous nudity but sort of unravels when the shark appears in the movie via poor stock footage.
½ April 28, 2011
This film is listed three times under three different variations of the title. A little like TOXIC SPAWN being a retitling of ALIEN CONTAMINATION and CONTAMINATION.

Absolutely TERRIBLE . . . its like it isn't even a coherent movie. Well, its coherent but its like scenes are put together disjointedly to make a film that's lacking any energy.

I remember thinking this wasn't a real movie even though it is a real movie.
½ September 22, 2010
Only the 70's could produce a movie where the free lovin', menage a trois-ing protagonists are scarier than the shark eating everyone.

The best soft-core porno/Jaws rip-off ever. Actually, no, that's not right. EDIT: it's the best a soft-core porno/Jaws rip-off can ever aspire to be.
February 2, 2010
A Spanish "Jaws." Sadly, it's too boring and takes nearly half the running time to get to the killing, a mortal sin by drive-in movie standards.
Beefy
Super Reviewer
November 22, 2009
I'm giving this film way more stars than it deserves. Ostensibly about a killer tiger shark, the film is an utter failure as such. It's mostly stock footage and poorly choreographed "suspense" scenes.

What made me enjoy Tintorera so much was what the film ended actually being about - a bromance, and a hilarious one at that. Every time you'd start wondering where the sharks were, a new aspect of the bromance was explored at length. It all culminates with a hysterically edited discussion where they acknowledge their feelings with their eyes.

I think you can watch the whole thing for free on YouTube, though it may not have all of the blood and nudity in that version.
½ August 10, 2009
Would have been better with more direction and without the excessively deplorable killing of actual animals.
March 9, 2009
Man måste ge den här högt betyg, hajens tunga andetag, Hugo Stiglitz tighta badbyxor, de råa hajattackerna, Susanne Georges snuskande ( någon som sett henne i en film utan att hon är snuskig?) Chicago t-shirten i början, musiken, du borde se den här filmen, vem än du är.
December 15, 2008
no thanks not my thing
Page 1 of 1