Transsiberian - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Transsiberian Reviews

Page 1 of 102
May 19, 2019
Really communicates the warning signs of territorial tensity from the simplistic impression of stranger danger to an escalating tense, ridiculously complicated situation when more of an unknown baggage gets unwillingly uncovered, becoming an atmospheric, calmingly stressful, minimally subtle thrill trip. (B)
½ May 3, 2019
10 years on has not aged well. Ropey plot. If you are casting Woody Harrelson it is best to avoid calling the character Roy. Roy Munsen casts a long shadow.
½ March 30, 2019
It's nice to see Woody Harrelson before his alcoholic loner typecast role series, and the setting and story are full of surprises
March 15, 2019
Am I the only one who thinks the lead female character´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)s scared-stupid mindset was completely ridiculous and annoying ? Being honest and fessing up about what she knew made much more sense than staying silent. Or at the very least, give her something intelligent to say instead of torturing us with close ups of her scared face and wringing hands. It would have been forgivable for awhile, but for it to last pretty much throughout the entire film was just too much. There was potential with this film, but the script veered off into annoying-land and never came back. Like a runaway train. The weak character development didnt help. Im giving it 3 stars because the first half was decent and held promise - unfortunately it went downhill from the middle on.
½ March 10, 2019
An excellent movie. The cinematography, the script, the acting. All first rate. My gosh, the lead actress is good. The way she squeezes emotion and suspense out of a line. She can show the slightest intent just in her face. Woody Harrelson was perfect for the honest lug of a husband. Carlos and his gf...all first rate. The suspense builds and builds, with surprises along the way. And how a supposed good character isn't, necessarily, so good. I feel for Harrelson's husband at the end. He has no idea of the kind of person he's married to, still? Or does he? Great movie.
March 8, 2019
Very enjoyable suspense thriller. Quite a few unpredictable twists and turns, which are nevertheless believable and plausible. Very unusual, unique and interesting setting for a movie: the Russian Trans-Siberian Express.
March 5, 2019
This is far from a perfect film but it's well executed and not a bad way to kill a couple of hours on a weeknight.
February 23, 2019
Transsiberian has some potential as a train murder thriller. Not exactly Orient Express, but could have been more believable than Commuter. Unfortunately, after a promising start, the movie falls apart into an insane series of completely implausible events. I spent the second half of the movie yelling 'why did they do THAT?' at the screen, like a bad 80s teen slasher film or the Last Jedi. The title of this movie should be 'Bad Decisions I made on Vacation'.
I have no idea why Ben Kingsley is in this. He must need money. He is a Russian cop??? Maybe the crazy druglord thug part got him the part... he seems to be doing that more lately like the ridiculous Collide film. I am not saying he does a bad job - all of the acting is well done - but the plot just meanders off into crazyland. Also, given the title, I am surprised there aren't more scenery shots - especially since she is a photographer?
February 20, 2019
Very disappointed in this movie which combines a crude negative characterization of Russia (totally divorced from reality ... I have been there twice) with totally unrealistic premise and story line. No thrill, no reality, no value. A waste of time.
November 23, 2018
A contrived story line and when the gore took over, I turned it off.
½ October 11, 2018
A very effective thriller that even gets tense at times. The acting is great due to the high-powered cast. The story is very interesting and exciting.
½ August 3, 2018
A potentially great thriller that never hits the heights of suspense the story deserves. This is the kind of plot that Hitchcock would have felt at home with, but without the great director's mastery of film form and Bernard Herrmann's composing skills, this falls short of its potential.
The strong story line and committed performances of the actors do make this worth watching however.
The story itself is intriguing and well structured, with several unexpected twists and turns. The acting is first rate, helped by great dialogue that sounds natural and avoids cliche. What is missing is a visual flair and a nerve shredding soundtrack to elevate this competently made film into a classic thriller.
Brad Anderson cannot escape his television background and the drab cinematography, mediocre score and only adequate direction limit the film's possibilities and left me with a feeling of disappointment.
½ May 27, 2018
In two instances, the plot is surreal and it makes the movie laughable. One is the male American supposed to be murdered or injured, but he comes out of it without a hitch but no explanation either.
The other is when the female American was in hot pursuit for love in the wilds at the ruined church, with a slight disturbance she is changed completely that went ballistic to kill the Spaniard. That was absurd and utterly surreal. If this nonsense was not that stupid, the movie is good, but without silly mistakes it would have been memorable and excellent
October 29, 2017
unforgettable journey towards the snowy crime thrill. Awesome ending.
½ October 7, 2017
Slow beginning, only last 20 minutes was very good. Lots of tense drama.
August 21, 2017
6/10 Two idiots who you wouldn't trust to leave their front door in the morning decide to take the Transsiberian and to make a series of bad decisions and 'duh' behaviours... One of those films that you end up rooting for the bad guys.
½ June 11, 2017
A good mystery thriller, but the premise is so dragging.
February 19, 2017
Certainly worth "my" time.
½ September 2, 2016
Very nice thriller. Good acting from everyone on board. Not a must see but good entertainment.
May 6, 2016
Another critic-bought film. Really 93%? Audience at 65% for a reason. I watched 10 mins, read the Wiki for the plot and glad I didn't watch any more of this pointless dribble.
Page 1 of 102