Two Men in Town - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Two Men in Town Reviews

Page 1 of 1
May 26, 2017
This had the potential to be a really tightly wound thriller as a criminal lays all his hopes on starting a new life in the town he grew up in. However, the sheriff who took him down for his past crimes is unwilling to let him forget his past. The film ultimately fails to deliver, it's very slow paced, I felt the level of threat and intimidation was very mild and the most bizarre choice of all was not to add subtitles to the 3 or 4 very lengthy scenes spoken only in Spanish. I managed to work out what was being said in the first one but the others were lost on me. Very strange!
August 4, 2016
Impressive. Foreboding atmosphere throughout. Unusual setting (New Mexico). Great acting from great actors. Loved the music. Why is RT score so low? Maybe because it's an intelligent film trying to say something about justice for (black) people.
July 7, 2016
this dude foest whitaker is good
May 12, 2016
Enjoyable until the end when you realise that you're still waiting for the climax Shen the credits start to roll.
October 7, 2015
Nowhere near worth your time. It's basically two hours of watching an overweight woman in too tight pants parade around and amount to nothing.
½ September 27, 2015
Honestly, I expected a lot more from "Two Men in Town." Considering the movie is set around Forest Whitaker and Harvey Keitel, I really thought there'd be more meat to their performances. Unfortunately, that was not the case: the story fell flat and the performances were as dull as the scenery. If I had hindsight, I probably would have looked the other way.
July 11, 2015
Review:
I really wasn't a big fan of this movie because it takes ages for something to happen and when it does, it still isn't that great. Its basically about a man who gets released from prison after killing a police officer and he tries to fit back into everyday life. The cops make his life hell because he murdered one of there own, so he struggles to fight against his violent impulses whilst staying true to his new found Islamic faith. When he finally gets pushed to the edge, he is forced to take matters into his own hands which goes against his trusty parole officer rules and his new found religion. All the way through the film, Forest Whitaker is being his usual moody self, trying to make an honest life for him and his girlfriend. Harvey Keitel is only in a few scenes so you stuck with a moody movie which really gets boring after a while. Once Whitaker reaches breaking point, the showdown at the end wasn't that great but I did like his parole officer who was played by Brenda Blethyn. Anyway, I personally got fed up with the movie after a while and I didn't find it that entertaining. Disappointing!

Round-Up:
Forest Whitaker has become one of the most moody actors of all time. He very rarely cracks a smile in any of his films, except for films like Our Family Wedding, Phenomenon and Good Morning Vietnam which were made earlier on in his career. He has put in some amazing performances in the Butler, the Last King of Scotland, Phone Booth and the Panic Room but I still find his acting quite hard to watch at times. Anyway, I didn't find his acting that great in this film and the script didn't help matters. It was made by the French director Rachid Bouchareb who brought you London River, Little Senegal and Just Like A Woman which were all low budget movies which didn't make it into the mainstream. Although this film had 2 big named stars, it still didn't get the big Hollywood distribution treatment because the concept was poor and quite depressing after a while.

I recommend this movie to people who are into their deep dramas about a violent man who finds religion in prison and finds it hard to deal with day to day life when he gets released. 2/10
½ March 14, 2015
Gimme back my time please.
½ March 1, 2015
a movie about nothing lol
October 11, 2014
Forest Whitaker has two great Oscar caliber roles this year. This film is one of his best and will get a nod.
Page 1 of 1