War Arrow - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

War Arrow Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ January 2, 2019
Pretty bad, even by 1950's standards
½ April 25, 2017
170425: Major Brady's (Jeff Chandler) hair, the non-Indian Indians and the brassieres of the day are just some of my complaints with this film. Did not inspire me in any way.
½ November 6, 2014
i enjoyed this very good B western from 1953 starring Maureen O Hara,Jeff Chandler. Dennis Weaver and a good cast. the movie had many beautiful breeds of horses and stunt drivers in war scenes with the indians.
½ January 28, 2014
A true classic from start to finish....It's worth adding to your collection.
October 6, 2013
An easy going western, supposedly based upon true events, where one tribe of Native American's are 'hired' to help defeat another, though its difficult to tell as there is no real context given to the film. We get some brief exposition that one tribe have been creating much difficulty for the 'American Cavalry' who then hire another that they had previously defeated to aid them in their fight. Some of the performances are very starched and the stereotyping is sadly very much in keeping with the period, the scenery looks good but then we expect that from a western, just wish they'd left some of the humour out of it.

A gentle Sunday afternoon viewing, that will go down a treat with Granddad.
September 30, 2012
A great, fun old western, which is everything that I love about this old genre.
October 18, 2011
Despite the technicolor and the presence of Maureen O'Hara this is generic stuff. Still, there is enough visual style and narrative momentum to make it a pleasant diversion.
August 4, 2011
Standard western story lacking depth. Jeff Chandler is a steady lead but the plot is mostly a yawn.
½ August 23, 2009
**1/2 (out of four)

Trying to stop and Indian revolt, an army officer (Jeff Chandler) goes to Texas to aid the calvary and fall in love with Maureen O'Hara.

Nice leads, but the western is typical.
June 13, 2009
Not so traditionnal US cavalry movie. Indians are not depicted like the savages they are usually presented.
Here, two side of the white man psyche are presented : the good one who wants to help everyone and the bad who spit or use indians.
Still, it's a good movie
Page 1 of 1