We Are Little Zombies - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

We Are Little Zombies Reviews

Page 1 of 3
February 2, 2019
I'm sure some will enjoy this film. Me, on the other hand, I felt like I was going to vomit after the first hour, and I would have left if I wasn't crammed in the middle of the row
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
February 1, 2019
There's so much to respect in We Are Little Zombies, just not enough to hold on to.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
January 25, 2019
A film whose welcome wears thin in... rapid fashion over a hard-to-indulge two-hour running time.
July 29, 2020
Nagahisa's visual and intellectual experiment is one of the most original narratives to date about about the importance of love and the need for grief to come into being.
July 27, 2020
We Are Little Zombies is an explosive pop-rock shriek into the void; bursting with creativity and confronting the darkest truths about life, death, and growing up in over-saturated hues.
August 7, 2020
Little Zombies still manages to stay coherent even while spiraling through incongruent moods. That's what makes the movie so special...
February 13, 2020
...the fast-paced and video-game-influenced production is often touching and well-performed, if a little hard to engage with or decipher beneath the heavy layers of artifice.
July 12, 2020
Nagahisa throws everything in his cinematic arsenal at the proverbial wall - and gets most of it to stick.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 10, 2020
Grief and trauma hangs thick in the air these days, a fog of death, abuse, and inequality. This film isn't a how-to manual for dealing with that so much as it is a near-genius glimpse at young people making their way in a world that doesn't make sense.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
February 6, 2019
Nagahisa jumps over formal narrative conventions to bring us a challenging and weirdly moving film. [Full Review in Spanish]
July 28, 2019
This debut feature film is an inspired and beautifully rendered rumination on grief through the eyes of four orphan children.
July 29, 2020
Written and directed by Makoto Nagahisa, We Are Little Zombies is a breakout feature-length debut from someone with a clear vision, unshackled by convention or hemmed in by traditional style.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 17, 2019
A bright, absorbing and inventive slice of sonic cinema.
July 10, 2020
From the Nintendo-inspired opening credits to the soundtrack, not to mention entire sequences, it all has the flair of an old-school game.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 19, 2019
We Are Little Zombies is a vibrant film brimming with snappy, dark humour that can only be used to handle such a sad premise as four children becoming orphans.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 5, 2019
We Are Little Zombies is as addictive as the pop-music it creates, and as strong as the camaraderie it evokes: a joyous and adventurous story of a four-piece confronted with tragedy and morbid apathy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 10, 2020
Highly stylized and based squarely in satire, We Are Little Zombies somehow manages to be a heartfelt look at what makes a family and what it means to grieve.
July 10, 2020
The sound! The color! The protagonists may be dead inside, but I have never felt more alive than after watching this film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 15, 2020
It's a visual kaleidoscope anchored by a killer soundtrack. It's simply FUN.
January 26, 2019
Honestly, the fact that there's so much going on beneath the surface of Makoto Nagahisa's We Are Little Zombies is just gravy, given that its aesthetic delights are more than enough to justify the two hours spent watching it.
Page 1 of 3