When Love Is Not Enough: The Lois Wilson Story - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

When Love Is Not Enough: The Lois Wilson Story Reviews

Page 1 of 2
September 21, 2015
The story of Bill is the story of every alcoholic, except he starts AA. Most women wouldn't stay with a Bill, let alone help change the world with him.
November 9, 2013
I love AA and thought I loved Winona Ryder... but her acting is on par with the worst example you can imagine of the most stereotypical made-for-TV movie. Barry Pepper made for a better Bill than James Woods did though.
August 24, 2013
Interesting story on how Alcoholics Anonymous was formed. If I was in her shoes, I would've left my husband long again and not stuck around.
August 6, 2013
Really sad and motivating story
March 12, 2013
I love this movie a lot its a great love story with great acting. A small low-budget movie but definatly a good one to see :)
November 20, 2012
barry pepper embodied Bill. I found Lois to be too paper thin a character. I did not care about her. I've heard so much about this movie but i was disappointed. still glad I watched it.
It did pick up in the last third. I felt the strength of will and personality of Lois. Ryder's reading of the steps were powerful in a way I haven't felt in a while
½ April 8, 2012
really sad movie but i love winona ryder and barry pepper is a damn fine actor, good movie
January 22, 2012
Love this movie one of my favourites!
½ July 3, 2011
Very compelling performance of Wynona Rider, excellent script... about endurance, survival, unconditional love...
April 30, 2011
Wow, Don't Miss it. Ms. Ryder excells in these rolls through time. What's better is that it is a true story of expierience, strength and hope. Lois W was a remarkable woman, Charlie. tx
April 20, 2011
Informative. Nice to know how established concepts started and that some current problems have been problems for a long time. Barry Pepper is brilliant in this role. Winona Ryder is a tad annoying, which is weird because I like her as an actress.
April 14, 2011
I admire the patience of the heroine...
March 22, 2011
This movie is highly recommended for ALCOHOLICS!!! hehehe
January 21, 2011
Winona is so beautiful and classic
October 20, 2010
Based on the true story of the enduring but troubled love between Lois Wilson, co-founder of Al-Anon, and her alcoholic husband Bill Wilson, co-founder of Alcoholics Anonymous.

Tiga perempat pertama filmnya cukup membosankan, cerita tentang kehidupan rumahtanga Louis dan suaminya yang peminum berat - Bill. Cinta Louis terbukti dalam kerasnya kehidupan akibat ulah suaminya yang tidak bisa lepas dari alkohol. Rangkaian janji terus bersambung dari tahun A ke tahun B... janji yang selalu dibuat dan dilanggar. Louis memang wanita yang kuat, tabah dan sabar! Mungkin, di zaman kita sekarang istri yang mengalami penderitaan sedemikian rupa akan memilih untuk bercerai, tapi that's the power Louis's love! Ia terus mendampingi suaminya dengan hope hope and hope.

Secara kesuluruhan, menurutku film ini cukup membosankan sekaligus bagus. Bosan karena gaya penceritaannya yang monoton (alur maju terus... ga ada variasi). Bagus karena beberapa hal berikut:

1. Love is not enough!
Zaman sekarang adalah zaman new age, dimana segala sesuatu dipercaya mungkin terjadi dan manusia menjadi pusat/allah bagi dirinya sendiri. Di film ini, dikisahkan, Louis punya sejuta cinta untuk terus mendampingi suaminya, ia punya persediaan cadangan kesabaran yang sangat banyak, ia berusaha dan terus bertahan tidak kenal menyerah, tapi pada akhirnya usaha yang sedemikian serta kekuatan diri sendiri itu tidak cukup! Love is not enough... yang akhirnya MEMBUKA mata Bill untuk berhenti minum bukan karena kandungan istrinya yang dua kali keguguran, bukan karena nyawanya yang hampir melayang, bukan karena airmata istrinya... tapi karena ia disapa oleh Tuhan dalam keadaannya waktu kritis! Yup, TUHAN yang membuat segalanya berubah. Kekuatan kita sebagai manusia untuk mengubah oranglain, even dengan cinta yang tulus is not enough jika tanpa rahmat dari Tuhan.

2. Social support can wake you up though you think it's impoosible to be true!
Louis - istri Bill yang kecanduan alkohol - mendapat kekuatan untuk move on dari masa-masa penuh tekanan batin itu dari teman-temannya. Mereka adalah istri-istri para pecandu alkohol. Tentang hal ini, sudah terlalu banyak penelitian yang membuktikan bahwa social support bernilai posisitf sekali untuk membangkitkan seseorang - bukankah kita merasa better ketika kita tahu ada oranglain yang bersama dengan kita, pernah atau sedang mengalami yang kita rasakan dan karena itu ia dapat mengerti situasi hati kita yang kadang tidak dapat dijabarkan dengan kalimat? Yes, that's the power of social supoort. Dengan saling berbagi pengalaman dan ide solutif terhadap apa yang mereka hadapi (memiliki suami yang kecanduan alkohol bukan hal yang gampang! it's so horrible!), mereka menjadi lebih dapat berdamai dengan masalah dan tentu saja, ketika manusia berdamai dengan masalahnya saat itu juga ia bangkit ke arah yang lebih baik.

P.S: Untuk anak psikologi yang sedang belajar mata kuliah Konseling, film ini boleh juga dijadikan tontonan untuk lebih memahami "Group Therapy", walaupun yah... to be honest, cukup membosankan.
½ October 3, 2010
It was nice to see more of Lois' side of the story. I did find this movie to be quite cheesy, though. The Bill Wilson story wasn't so "Hallmarky." Mind you, it IS a Hallmark movie, so I guess that would make sense. Definitely worth a watch if you can get your hands on it. I think I may have had a bit of a bias seeing as I do not like Winona Ryder.
September 25, 2010
I watched this because I was wondering what had happened to Wynonna Ryder's career. This would be it - but for a made for TV movie it was pretty decent.
½ April 27, 2010
very well put together and great casting
one of the better recovery films made
½ April 26, 2010
Is it required of stars in "Hallmark Hall of Fame" television movies to overact and chew the scenery through the entire film? Poor, poor Winona.

That being said, 2 and a half stars for the scene where Lois finds all the wives in their cars outside and invites them in for the first Al-Anon meeting. That scene just killed me.
Page 1 of 2