When a Killer Calls - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

When a Killer Calls Reviews

Page 1 of 2
July 14, 2016
I've seen tons of slashers. This straight to DVD is done well. Scary and twisted. No comic relief. Well acted. Don't hate. Just watch it.
July 6, 2013
The Asylum's rip-off of the remake of When a Stranger Calls. The original When a Stranger Calls was an intense, sleazy, and twisted gem of 70s horror-suspense cinema. I never watched the remake because it looked like a toothless, watered down, PG-13 version of the original. At least When a Killer Calls revels in the brutality even if it is as unoriginal as its title implies. Lots of death and gore make up for the lack of originality somewhat, but it is still a pointless remake.
½ June 19, 2013
An okay film, though it feels more like a parody of 'When a Stranger Calls'. The deaths scenes are obviously fake and the plot is slow and almost non-existent. Still an okay film, but it could have been so much more.
March 30, 2013
Rebekah Kochan is hot.

That's pretty much the entire plot.
December 1, 2012
Its really scary even scarier then when a stranger calls PG-13
July 20, 2012
No, I'm not referring to When A Stranger Calls, although it does use the "someone's calling from inside the house" plot. It's a "B" movie done by a studio that's known for taking basic plots of movies about to come out in the theater (or DVD), and it's not bad. At the end, it actually makes sense who the killer is.
April 5, 2012
seems stupid but what the hey
November 19, 2011
seems stupid but what the hey
Matt S.
Super Reviewer
September 3, 2011
An extremely amateurish rip off of When A Stranger Calls but unlike the well filmed, atmospheric remake of the 1970's chiller this one has balls. Right from the beginning of the film it has the feeling of unease and dread with brutal and effective yet generic kills that were disturbing and gutsy. This movie has a very visibly low budget and less than impressive acting that were the movie's downfall but the body count was decent and the killer was sadistic and stopped at nothing to bring fear to this poor babysitter and the stalk sequences though handled in a silly amateurish way did bring some suspense and creepyness to the film enough to make you look over your shoulder especially if you watch it alone in your home. The acting was beyond atrocious thanks to a horrible script and unoriginal story but towards the end it seems like everyone tried their best to step up their game which led to an effective, harrowing finale which might make you think twice about babysitting. Overall it's obviously a ripoff, unoriginal, flimsy but its brutality, creepyness and ballsy nature will creep under your skin, sure it wasn't amazing but as a generic rip off of stalk and slash it isn't half bad. Rent it. Have zero expectations, leave your brains at the door, grab some popcorn and enjoy. 6 out of 10
July 19, 2011
Formulaic and kind of predictable. Not super scary. Not a bad movie , not a great one either.
April 30, 2010
an urban legend like :) me <3 urban legends
June 2, 2008
haha the stupid-est movie ever,but very bloody =/
June 1, 2008
I was very impressed! I thought it would be just like people say all Asylum movies are, terrible and boring. This did, however, bring a lot of new stuff to the table that was NOT in any of the movies people claim this rips off of. I won't RECOMMEND this movie, but don't brush it off just because of its title and cheesy cover. Toss it onto your Netflix queue.
March 21, 2008
I did not really like this movie.
January 5, 2008
the main character in this movie was FINE
December 22, 2007
It was scary at first but now I like watching it at night
December 17, 2007
I haven't see it yet
August 10, 2007
bad ripoff of when a stranger calls!! only part that was funny was when the killer says "yeah im a dumbass" lmao kiki, lindz, court, & ash.
August 7, 2007
SOO BADLY WANT TO SEE IT!
July 16, 2007
people sayy this movie is just retarted , like there is no story to it ? i loved the movie when a stranger calls though!
Page 1 of 2